Journey's End


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 12th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh...Back in Bangkok, where there is a 7-11 on every street, where there is air conditioned high speed internet places, where you can forget everything you saw in the past week because life in Bangkok just seems so normal now.

The past few days in Cambodia were really super. I had a driver who's name was John. After taking me to a few run of the mill tourist places he invited me to go to the weekly Saturday kickboxing match with him. It was a brilliant day at the fights. I wasn't really looking forward to it after the so-so time I had in Thailnad, however this was different. For one thing, I wasn't segregated to the 'white's only' section like I was in Thailand. WHy? Because I was the only white person there. Also, the fighting was way better. Out of 7 matches three were a KO and one was a draw. And the company of John was good too. Turns out his whole family, father, mother, brothers and sisters, were killed by the Khmer Rouge. Now he is married with two children. They live in a shantyville in Phomh Penh. Row upon row of corrugated metal walls, or just plain wood walls that need to be changed after every rainy season. That night I stayed with him and his family for dinner, and was invited to go with them to their village the next day. Now, I was going to go visit an orphanage and give blood and just generally do things to make me feel a little better about myself, but village life seemed much more grand!

So it was a marvelous day at the village the next day. I even got to help kill and pluck the chicken for the day's meal. When I say help of course I just mean stood by and watched. We swam in the dirtiest muddiest river ever and had a blast. I kept my lips tightly pursed the whole time. After a most disgusting snack of sour fruit and smashed raw fish, we were back to 'the centre' where my story really gets interesting.

Back in Phomh Penh, where it was to my favorite restaurant for pizza. A little backgroun information. Everywhere in the city's restaraunts is advertised "happy" pizza or shake or whatever. Turns out happy does not mean extra cheese ont he pizza. It's dope. Specially made by Mary Jane. I thought what the hell. My last night in Cambodia, esentially my last night on the town. Why not? Lets make it happy!

Holy fuck, I was beyond happy. Way beyond. Somehow I made it back to my hostel, I don't really remember. I do remember having to crawl to my room because I couldn't walk. I passed out on the bed with all the lights on, fully clothed and contacts in. I couldn't talk, or move, or even think. I was freaking GONE. I woke up at about 1am still freaking stoned, but did manage to get out my contacts. 5am I wake up to my alarm, and am alarmed myself, as I still can't move or function properly. All I can do is just lay on my bed. I am worried because I somehow have to pack all my shit to get to the airport for my flight to Bangkok, but I really can't move. I had to ask my driver to help me throw shit into my bag for me. Fell asleep in the tuk tuk ride to the airport, and then it suddenly occured to me I have to get through customs, and I am still so stoned I can't talk. I can barely stay awake.

Okay, I'm on the plane, but I don't remember any of my experience in the airport. Now I just have to get through THai immigration. As luck would have it I am the only one going through, so I have no less than 5 immigration officials standing around me asking me questions in disjointed English. I can't believe I wasn't arrested right then and there. Okay, my passports stamped and I made it into the country. Pass out on the bus ride tot he hotel. Somehow get into my room, where I have pretty much slept and felt stone for the last 24 hours. It is now almost two full days since I had the pizza, and I swear I still feel the effects of the drug. I am woozy, nauseaus, Have trouble forming words. Am just going to go back to my room and curl up again. what a way to spend my last few days in Thailand.

Will report in tomorrow before flight home. SOrry no pics, but can't figure it out right now.

Cathy

Advertisement



12th December 2006

OMG!!!
Sometimes I just can't believe the things you do and the situations you get yourself into!!! I sure hope you make it home in one piece. Sad but happy day for you to be coming home I am sure. Just happy for us of course! Can't wait to see you again. I know I will miss your blogs! Love MOM XOXOXO
13th December 2006

hahahaha
hahaha you're way too funyy! mom doesn't think it is so funny...but gyess what?! I sure think it is. i guess no "special" brownies for you anytime soon eh? hahaha never gonna live this one down! love you a ton and can't wait to talk to you and see in in..what? a week? travel home safe and make sure you call when you get in!!! if noone at home call my cell!
13th December 2006

Oh the fun that you have had .... I'm looking forward to having you back at work to listen to your tales of yonder...You must come over for a cocktail ( NO MARTINIS ) I will never ever touch one of those again.... See you soon Have a Happy and safe trip home ... Sharon
14th December 2006

OMG
Geez Cathy I am glad u got out of the country without going to jail,because I bet they don't have e mail priveleges there!!!!!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb