Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 21st 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaving chiang mai today. I really want to come back. I’d like to do the full cookery course and I would do the chiang Rai trip again as I wish now that id gone on the boat ride to Laos. My flight is at 10.15 so I arrive in Bangkok at about 11.45. It will be good to actually see Bangkok now, and not just go through the airport. At Bangkok airport I wait for ages at the baggage carousel, and everyone else seems to be getting their bags. Big sigh of relief when I spot my two, last on to the carousel. I’m met at the airport by the rep from Asia World, Tony, who seems really nice. He tells me that I wont be able to travel anywhere outside Bangkok because all around it is flooded. I ask him if the city itself has been affected. His reply: not yet! We drive into Bangkok and the traffic seems ok, everyone I’ve talked to says that the traffic is really bad?! I discover that they are right when we stay at a standstill on one street for about 20 minutes! My hotel is gorgeous. Apparently its very new and not many people know about it yet. It's on the opposite side of the river to actual 'Bangkok'so has great views. They do 2 free shuttle boats every 15 minutes going to the other side or to connect with the sky train. After Tony’s comment earlier about the flooding I’m glad that I’m on the 18th floor! Tony spends ages chatting to me about Bangkok and even takes me across the river to show me where I need to get the boat to the temple where I’ll be doing the thai massage course. He gives me lots of tips about getting about, such as to always make sure that I tell taxi drivers to use their meters. and not to get in a longboat on the river because the driver will agree a price with you before you go then get half way across and tell you that you have to pay him three times as much there and then or he wont take you back! When Tony has gone I unpack and the day’s pretty much over so I just get room service


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

HotelHotel
Hotel

Look - no bowl!!!


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb