Where are you going?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
May 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We are in Thailand, so it always starts with a big smile and a display of interest: 'Where are you going? Where are you from? How long are you in Thailand?' and sometimes a compliment 'You have very pale skin" (FYI this IS a compliment here - you buy skin lightening cream in the shops where we would have tanning moisturising cream...) How nice, I hear you say. Those of you who have been to Bangkok know what's coming next... 'My friend he drive taxi - give you good price to see top 5 spots' 'You can't go that way - today is closed' 'Protests today - come with me to factory - today you pay same price as Thai people!'

ARGH

So my first few days have been overwhelming to say the least - my usual organisation failed me for this trip - I only booked my accommodation 30 minutes before going to the airport and Bailey was horrified to hear I don't even have a guide book! But I am slowly getting used to the heat (slowly!) and, with the help of some great wesbite tips from Blair, I have a bit more of a plan . And never fear Bails, I could pick up a guide book for 4quid from the KS Road in Bangkok. Ok, ok i didn't ACTUALLY buy one as I'm hoping to get one cheaper in Chiang Mai. But just wanted to reassure you it's on the agenda.

BANGKOK:
Busy, smelly, chaotic, dirty - lots of colour, great great guesthouse with super friendly staff and delicious breakfast, DELICIOUS masaman curry.
Does anyone who's been to both Kavos and Khao San Road notice any similarities or was that just me?

So decided to get out of the rat race and into Thailand proper. The taxi to the train station in Bangkok cost me 100B (2quid), train to Ayutthayah where I am now cost 15B (30p). Amaze.

AYUTTHAYAH
Much better! Met an english couple coming off the train who've been travelling for just under a year - jealous! They took me to their guest house (where I got A/C - HURRAH!) and took me under their wing for the night with some great advice. This town is 2 hours north of bangkok and is famous for it's Temple Ruins. I couldn't face it in the midday sun yesterday so went to a couple of near sites in the evening which were lovely. I've hired a bike today and will wait until the midday sun is over to head out to some of the further sites. I imagine the best temple ruins are going to be in Cambodia at Angkor Wat, but I like the Buddhist temples - very peaceful places - nice for calm reflection 😊
Have rediscovered how to meet people as well: just sit and eat dinner alone in the backpacker areas and someone will inevitably come and say hello. Heading to Chiang Mai on the overnight train tonight and from tomorrow the serious trekking/trips begins!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb