AMPHAWA: FLOATING KITCHENS AND NIGHTIME LIFE


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ampawa
June 22nd 2014
Published: June 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Amphawa Floating Restaurants-7Amphawa Floating Restaurants-7Amphawa Floating Restaurants-7

Washing hand on the river!!!...as she is cooking....the river is not clear....if you know what I mean....
I looked for a floating marked and was pleased to find something a little bit different from the floating market that I visited before: “floating kitchens”. Ladies pulled up on their boats by the steps on the sides of the brige and cook food, mainly seafood and there are little tables and little stools for customers to sit on and eat on the steps. A waitress takes the order and delivers it to the boat lady and brings the food from the boats to the people. The waitress also delivers the payment. Super interesting. I spend some time watching and trying to figure out how to photograph what was going on and capture the atmosphere properly without a wide wide angle. I forgot I had my gopro in the pocket and could have filmed the restaurant nightlife in Amphawa but as off yet haven’t used my go pro at night. I only saw the 2 floating kitchen sections close to the main bridge. You can’t miss it! When I was done, I needed to get creative and I played with slowshutter speeds at the bridge trying to get all the umbrellas sharp and moving people. I got a few interesting phantom people shots but I wanted to show lots of heads in the image and how packed the place was. I chose an image that shows a good amount of people.



I was starving but was afraid to eat half of the things I saw. Most of the food was cooking in big pots with who knows what in it or stuff that have been sitting there all day under the sun. I didn’t dare try any seafood eventhough at some point there were people making a long line and everything smelled very good. I only though if I get food poisoned I will go down for days and I wasn’t willing to take the risk. I walked up and down the isles looking for something to eat not so scary then I saw a place where they sold green papaya salad that was busy and all the veggies looked fresh. I also ordered a Singha. I discovered Singa is not as strong as Leo or Chang the other Thai beers so I can drink it. Right at 9pm everyone starts closing. I rushed to see if I could find toiletries and was luckly to find a place opened and also bought a dress to wear the next day because me clothes stunk from seating all day. Yak



I bought some coconut-layered dessert and I went to sleep. I couldn’t wait to get up the next day and get out of my room!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Amphawa Floating Restaurants-16Amphawa Floating Restaurants-16
Amphawa Floating Restaurants-16

Lots and lots of people


22nd June 2014

Adventure
You are one adventurous traveler. Hope all continues to go well over yonder. Really enjoying yer posts and pics.
23rd June 2014

Thanx Kevin

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb