Taian: A natural face of Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan
August 26th 2009
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Taian


Jeep Wrangler, my new steedJeep Wrangler, my new steedJeep Wrangler, my new steed

Though it's not the FJ as I'm used to, this Jeep will no doubt get the job done.
Having some time before school gets underway and a new toy (my purchase of a Jeep Wrangler), the time has come to begin seeing the local area. With a couple of friends, a Jeep with the top off and some amazing scenery, the ingredients are all present for a great day. This trip was to Taian, a 1-2 hour drive from my home city of Hsinchu. Taian is more to the south east, putting us in a warmer and more mountainous area. Taian is also known for its high number and quality of hot springs. Taiwan of course is located on the edge of continental plates, making earthquakes, hot springs and other such effects common place around the area.

Taian has some great hot springs, and this area was first developed to be so by the Japanese. Originally, these hot spring resorts were private clubs. Now though, there are a wide range of hot springs to enjoy, from high priced resorts, to simple mom and pop places. Many of the resorts have plumbing directly to the hot springs, meaning that in your own room, you can enjoy hot springs water at your own convenience. Future note, this could make for a pleasant and romantic weekend.

Besides the great mountain scenery, there's also a chance to experience some of Taiwan's native tribes. The Atayal have a strong presence here, one of Taiwan's larger tribes. As some of the pictures show, this tribe does have its own unique culture quite different from the larger traditional Chinese presence. There is actually a local village one can visit, but with our time of the day this had to be saved for the next trip.

The day was overall a very nice one. Driving with the top off on a Jeep in a warm and lush climate with friends and good music is always a good start. Once we got to the area, we decided to do some hiking before enjoying the hot springs. The hiking trails are quite steep at areas, given the mountain terrain. What was different for me, as compared to Colorado, was that the trails had many staircases and other such supports. Some parts of the land can make for a challenging climb. I was also able to walk through my first bamboo forest, good experience. After hiking for a bit, we took some time off to swim through a very cool river. The water was clean and quite refreshing. Taiwan was beginning to reveal its natural-playground atmosphere much to my delight.

With the sun setting, we decided to take a stroll through the nearby town. Trying some of the local made food was good, though certainly unique tastes. Many forms of sweet rice and sweet bean snacks were available. The sweet bean snacks are something I'm still developing a taste for, but perhaps I'm too conditioned on Mexican food in which beans must be salty. I'll continue to work to diversify my tastes, though I can't make any promises.

Once we finished up with the town, it was time for a hot spring. We opted for the simple mom and pop option, in which you get your own hot tub room with a view of the river. With a 7-11 next door offering many cheap food items and beer, the requirements for a true hot spring experience were present. A couple of hours of taking in the hot springs with the distinct flavor of Taiwanese beer made for a solid ending.

As we drove back, I began to realize that there is much to see and enjoy in Taiwan. To be honest, even as I type this entry while inside my apartment, I'm thinking I should be outdoors more. Taiwan is wealthy with natural scenery to enjoy, and with my new Jeep, I think Taiwan and I will do quite well together.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Nature of Taian 4Nature of Taian 4
Nature of Taian 4

This river proved to be a great place for a dip


29th March 2011
Jeep Wrangler, my new steed

looks like you will have fun.
Nice ride.I miss you and love you so much.I hope you stay home longer this year. P.S. Happy Birthday.
5th April 2011

Thanks, miss you too
Hello Madison! I certianly miss you girls as well. I look forward to coming back this summer and hearing about your own adventures! Till then, keep making me proud! Uncle Nate

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb