East Coast


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taitung
June 9th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I went to the east coast side of the island this weekend. The Pacific Ocean looked so blue and clear. I drove a manual transmission car around tight curves that thinly separated the Pacific and the mountains formed at the edge of the Phillippine Sea Plate. The day turned into night while I drove and the bright full moon came out. Driving is great.
There was a cow farm out there. I drank some pretty good chocolate milk. The milk is free if you just slaughter the cow yourself and clean up all the blood, but I didn't do that cause I'd still have to pay a wizard to make it chocolate. Then I visited the Bunun Aboriginees land. Up until maybe 100 years ago, everyone at some point would visit another tribe and take someone's head off. They must have been pretty good, 'cause they survived, but they don't headhunt anymore. They sung some of their songs for us and showed us some of their dancing. At night I tried a gorgeous hot spring. I went right for the hottest water and slowly and painfully dipped myself in. I came out 5 minutes later totally red and cooked, and i stayed red all night. I tried all the temperatures of water at some point, and i can say I felt so relaxed afterward and I didn't notice any of my mosquito bites any more. At the end I went back to the good hot water and while sitting there up to my chin a lady comes over to try the water. I communicated with her through sound effects to reflect the water temperature, noises like, "woooooph," and "yieeeeeeee." Then a guy came over and tried the water too and he let out a little scream and I laughed. From there we went on to actual civilized words but I don't understand anything pretty much so I told him Wo bu-ming bai - i don't understand, so he tried saying it again and i thought about it but i still couldn't get his words to make sense so i tried to tell him, 'sorry, my chinese is no good,' to which he replied, 'sorry.' It was a little weird but I dismissed it quickly figuring he was just being nice. We played around by getting out of the really hot water and jumping into the nearby cold water, then just switching back and forth every few minutes. Then I said bye and showered and left. In the car I told Naya about the conversation with the guy and told her the words I used. I had made just a little mistake, and what he had heard me say was, 'sorry, you speak chinese very poorly.'

Wo GongGong Chong MayGwa YoYong Da Jali - I just from america swam to here
Wo SheHwen Jahshǐ - I like to drive
Hao ChirMa? - Good eats?


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Amazing informationAmazing information
Amazing information

Rocks are just so important wow. encompassingly vital
Water Running UpWater Running Up
Water Running Up

Taiwan loves this little stream that runs up hill right here
Bridge to Sansiantai IslandBridge to Sansiantai Island
Bridge to Sansiantai Island

AKA the terrace of the 3 immortals. there are 3 peaks and they represent 3 gods who once came here and took a nap
On The BridgeOn The Bridge
On The Bridge

Designed so that cars could never be permitted onto the island
Menacing StairsMenacing Stairs
Menacing Stairs

It takes a lot of sweating to get to this point - the tower atop the peak of the immortal at the opposite end of the island.


20th June 2009

i agree with your mom.
It is indeed always good to know a wizard! And I think I died when I found out what you actually said to the other dude about his chinese being poor. I'm in California right now. Did you get that job??
20th June 2009

silly me
I didn't realize you could scroll down to view all your photos. I'm going to design a car that can fit across that bridge in spite of their reasonings!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb