American Presence in Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It has been a very long day. I can't say that I have fully adjusted to the time change - it is after midnight here and I need to go to bed soon, but I want to talk about some of the things we did today. I'll finish covering today tomorrow.

I am torn. Our first meeting of the day was with the American would-be ambassador to Taiwan if we officially recognized Taiwan as a country. Since we don't he is called the "Director of the American Institute in Taiwan."

The Director (~ambassador) Stephen Young left me unsettled and at a loss for what to write on the blog about this meeting.

He is, personally, a very affable and obviously intelligent man. Perhaps it is the duty of a person in an ambassadorial role to be vague, but Mr. Young was quite full of BS; when it counted.

Like I say; I am torn. It was never stated that our conversation in the room of the would-be embassy was confidential, but I can not imagine that reporting some of the things he said would help our relations with certain parties if they were to read this blog, for instance.

Obviously, I care a lot about my country and its affairs with other countries. I also believe that dissent and questioning our leadership is an essential tenant of democracy.

Mr. Young was very polite and engaged in an extended conversation with us. I had every opportunity to bring-up with him some of my problems with things he said. I never brought them up because I knew what his answers would be due to his role and due to whom he is accountable-to.

Also, due to whom Mr. Young is accountable, it is impossible so discern what his actual and true assessment of U.S. affairs in this region should be.

So, I'll end this post by saying: For the sake of the world; for all our sake: Please vote for the Democrat in the next Presidential election.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb