Day 1: Taiwan and Naha, Okinawa (Oct 2016)


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
October 21st 2016
Published: January 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 21st October 2016

So, on my final mid-haul trip for 2016, I decided to venture back to two familiar territories that I'm rather comfortable with. I would first fly into Taiwan where I would spend a couple of days in Taichung before heading to Naha, Okinawa. Making a side trip to Okinawa made sense since flight time was just slightly one hour from Taipei. On my return from Naha, I would make a stopover in Taipei before heading back to Singapore. Making use of EVA Air's promotion, I managed to spend slightly more than SGD 650 for my SIN-TPE-OKA-TPE-SIN routes.

On the afternoon of 21st October 2016, I was ready to fly off to Taipei. Food onboard the flight was pretty decent where I had braised chicken with coconut milk sauce which tasted quite like green curry actually. In fact, I loved the accompanying achar and would certainly loved to have another serving. The entertainment selections were ok too. I was pretty impressed by the headsets and sound system though. With my headsets on, I could not hear the sound of the roaring engines of the jumbo jet. Marvellous!

After 4.5 hours, my flight finally landed at Taoyuan International Airport after 6pm where I bussed the rest of my journey to Taichung Station where my hotel (Plaza Hotel Taichung) was waiting for me. The weather in Taiwan was nice too. After the typhoon, it was clear skies, no rains and warm temperatures. All in all, day one of my trip went on quite smoothly. Time was spent commuting from Singapore to Taichung. And I was so glad that I had chosen a full service carrier for this trip as it provided some comfort for the long journey.

Happy Holidays!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.451s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 79; dbt: 0.3417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb