Reflection: PART I


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Traditional HatTraditional HatTraditional Hat

These little details are what make Taiwan great.
HIPPOS WEAR BIG UNDERPANTS.

This was the answer to my hang-man game in one afternoon class…coincidentally, this was also the same day my boss decided to watch me teach from the back window (I blame not seeing her earlier, on the shadow). I’m allowed to play educational games as long as the content is from our books and we WERE learning about zoo animals that particular week.
The look on her face screamed “why did I ever let that crazy foreigner work here in the first place”, but the kids’ expressions told me otherwise.
Conclusion: I came thousands and THOUSANDS of kilometers away from home only to discover that words pertaining to ‘underthings’ and ‘poo’ are universally funny (hold rare breeds such as bosses and police officers).

These, and other similar embarrassments…er…memories…are what this whole journey have been about.


Wow, ten days left and I want to say “I have sooo much to do”, but in reality, existing anal retentiveness has assured that my various lists (I’m guilty of even having a list of lists to cross off) have been virtually finished.
Now that my backpack resembles more of a pharmacy, and my arm a pin-cushion, I
TempleTempleTemple

I am obsessed with Taiwanese temples...i find them so beautiful and interesting. I love that they are hidden everywhere in the city - and you can come accross them in the most unlikely of places.
have been trying to mentally prepare myself for the next few months.
I know, I know “you can never prepare youself for such an intense..yadda, yadda, yadda” - but I’m sorry, I have to conjure up some sort of scenario in my head to take away from the night sweats and heart palpitations I’ve acquired. Seriously. Aside from the normal anxieties I may be experiencing, however, curiosity would be the best way to describe my mood at this point - in addition to the obvious excitement…and other happy feelings : )

All that said; I can’t even begin to think about a new place until I’ve spent some time reflecting on the once foreign country I’ve called home for the past year and three months. Think I’ll have to do this one in two parts cause just thinking about ending it ‘here’ is making feel sad…

PART I

For all of you who have asked me the broad question “what is Taiwan like?” my not-so-nutshell answer is as follows (in no particular order).
Hmmm…
Taiwan is a place:

Where the Fillet-O-Fish is the first meal pictured on a McDonalds menu…
Where you can buy a tea, and a bridesmaid dress all at the same roadside stand…
Where a hike in the mountains includes paved walkways and wooden stairs…
Where red, yellow and green lights all mean “GO, DAMN IT”…
Where it’s not uncommon to see more than four people/animals on a scooter…

Where dogs wear more Chanel than I will ever be able to affoard…
Where cartoons prove to be the most effective marketing tool…
Where you can eat that rubbery thingy from a chicken’s head…

Where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner all for under $5 CAD…
Where you can find specific temples to pray at for anything from financial success to an A+ on a final exam…
Where the garbage truck could lull your baby to sleep....
Where you’re always received with a warm smile and nod...
Where someone would not just kindly, but EAGERLY give you the shirt off their back if you needed it…
Where you learn to appreciate your native school system…Where you will quietly thank yourself for making the move to discover it.


Now it's really sinking in! Thanks again for all your emails and support!

R.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hidden TempleHidden Temple
Hidden Temple

Near my house...
The Asian TouchThe Asian Touch
The Asian Touch

Even religion isn;t spared when it comes to neon lights.
MeinongMeinong
Meinong

A beautiful town about 45 minutes by scooter from Kaohsiung. A good day trip...
Dragon DanceDragon Dance
Dragon Dance

What an amazing show - the dragon dance is held every year to celebrate Chinese New Year.
Kenting SunsetKenting Sunset
Kenting Sunset

My last trip to Kenting. It was hard to say goodbye...
Monkey (obviously!)Monkey (obviously!)
Monkey (obviously!)

Hiking up 'Monkey Mountain' near my house - these monkeys are SO tame, you have to watch your personal belongings!
View Through the TreesView Through the Trees
View Through the Trees

At the top of the mountain...it was a hazy day, but that's the city down below.
Sweaty Carolyn & ISweaty Carolyn & I
Sweaty Carolyn & I

Those wooden stairs can be difficult..surprisingly.
Grandfather & SonGrandfather & Son
Grandfather & Son

Grandparents are so important in the family system here - it's more common to see a kid out with his grandparents than his or her parents. Kind of nice...


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb