The Land Where It's Already Tomorrow, Chapter 16: Still Thoughts, Where’s the Beef? A Gentle Soul, The Honour Roll


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Hualien
October 22nd 2006
Published: September 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Taking 5, and Thinking About ThingsTaking 5, and Thinking About ThingsTaking 5, and Thinking About Things

There is a lot to see and do in Hualien, just in the city--never mind the county!
I whipped into Hualien City last Monday morning, to get Lao-puo registered for her Chinese classes at Buddhist Tzu Chi (Zoo Chee) University.

BTCU is right beside a Buddhist Hospital of the same name. Between the university and the hospital is a building of staggering architectural beauty called “The Hall of Still Thoughts”. At first I cynically imagined that the Hall of Still Thoughts was the morgue from the hospital. Considering the Buddhist concept of reincarnation I disrespectfully thought “better luck next time, pal”.

There is an enormous swastika over the door to the Hall of Still Thoughts, but the significance is different from one culture to another. To Asian people, the swastika is the footprint of a dove—the symbol of the intention to live a virtuous life.

BTCU is walking distance from Hualien train station and bus depot.

I can see the future as we speak. I’ll zip down Hualien after work, and meet Lao-puo after her class. We will have a smashing meal together—I’ve already cased out one nice little waterfront place—and then whip home on Esmerelda.

There is good food at BTCU. The good news is that the meals are inexpensive. The bad
The Edge of the Hall of Still Thoughts...The Edge of the Hall of Still Thoughts...The Edge of the Hall of Still Thoughts...

...and the stunning mountains.
news is that the meals are vegetarian.

It’s for the best. I am an object of general remark during lunch hour, because I rarely have rice with my lunch. Principal Lin, in evident fear that I suffer from anorexia nervosa, thought maybe I didn’t like rice. He spoke to the kitchen staff, and the next thing you know the most incredible BBQ pork got plunked in front of me.

The odd vegetarian meal won’t do me any harm.

My good friend Joe, whose ability to speak Chinese and read, has been invaluable, is Buddhist. There are ants in his kitchen. He does not poison them, or swat them. He “provides them with an opportunity to escape.”

Time is marching on. I bought a heater yesterday (Saturday) afternoon. They get sold out if you wait too long. Today is lesson planning and housework. What a dud of a wild bachelor I have become!

My colleague Amber put together a nice little collage for the corridor, of pictures and information about the English teachers. She asked me a few questions about my background and interests, my zodiac sign, and (oddly I thought) my blood type.

If
Jung Shan Lu, Near the MontainsJung Shan Lu, Near the MontainsJung Shan Lu, Near the Montains

Jung Shan St is one of the busiest in Hualien--and thus one of the most challenging and most fun to navigate on the motorbike.
you wait long enough, anything can happen. Never, in my dreams, had I ever imagined that Douglas Alexander Stephen and A+ would appear on the same school document.

A few days ago, I was making my way to the cafeteria for lunch, but when I got there I discovered that there was some kind of a meeting going on. Doubtless there was notification that lunch would be supplied to teachers in their workrooms, but (unable to read) I didn’t know that. My colleague, the retired ROC army officer, helped me out. He can’t speak enough English to give any kind of elaboration, so he said (in his voice that they can hear in Manila). “YOU. OFFICE”. I went on my way with a smile on my face, thinking that it has been forty years since a teacher said that to me in a loud voice.

That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb