Day 19: Bangkok Bound


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Negombo
September 18th 2018
Published: September 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I’ve been a bit grumpy today, the swimming pool has done my ears in (I’m long suffering with ear troubles, as family and friends will well know, but I wasn’t not going to go in the pool on the beach. Simple as.) I also managed to hit myself in the head with the shower door and now have a small mark on the top right of my forehead, hidden just beneath the hair line. Excellent. When I woke at 8.30am Meg was already up, and out for a jog and a swim, returning shortly after.



After our packing and ensuring that our baggage was aeroplane friendly, we put our luggage in the hotel hold and went out to source breakfast. A “Full English Breakast” consists of 2 grilled mini hot dogs, 2 pieces of grilled toast, some tomatoes and an omelette (3/10). Meg had a Sri Lankan breakfast which consists of potato curry (which I was told tasted like “slightly flavoured water”) and rotis. Not a great day so far.



We then got ourselves to the airport and through security and began to head to Bangkok. 4928 steps today for me in Sri Lanka, as I’m writing this on the plane (which is particularly riddled with turbulence bumps and some “ooh er” moments.) So as part one of today finishes I will give the Sri Lankan summary.



Total Steps:153,009



Hills, rocks, mountains climbed: 4



Best food: Kottu Roti from Halal Shacks in Colombo.



Genuine 5 top tips:



1) Book your train tickets well in advance if you want to do the “tour the country on train” thing.



2) If you get around Sigiriya and Habarana, go hunting for rubbish tips, as weird as it sounds you will find wild elephants munching their way through them, which is a rather unique experience.



3) Go to Ella. Just do it.



4) Properly research whether it’s worth hiring a driver. Ours cost us half of our original budget for Sri Lanka and in hindsight it would have been worth us doing some longer research into this.



5) When you get the chance get a fruit juice. They normally cost 250-300 and it is not so much a juice as it is a piece of fruit in a blender. On the whole they taste spectacular (I’ve tried Mango, Papaya and passionfruit whilst here) and it’s excellent value for money.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb