Peace at Mihintale


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » North Central Province » Mihintale
December 2nd 2013
Published: January 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

MihintaleMihintaleMihintale

Many steps, no people
It's raining in Sri Lanka. A lot. I was not expecting this! I knew it was likely but I had naively thought rain here would be hot, tropical and short lived, not cold, dark skies like we have in England. Arriving in Anuradhapura, the advice is not to go up to Mihintale because the rain will make the rocks slippy, but a guide offers to take people up there and I am not sure I will get another chance. This is my first time in Asia proper, and my first time in a tuk-tuk. I'm amazed how far they will push these tiny vehicles, and how nifty they are. We really should have them in over-crowded Britain.

Miraculously as we pull in to the car park the rain stops and we find ourselves at the base of a steep hill with lots of steps. This spot is where the the Buddhist monk Mahinda met the local King and buddhism was born in Sri Lanka, so it's become an important pilgrimage site for the people here. Barely anyone here today though - only a few local families. I'm amazed at how these little old ladies with years of devotion behind them, seem to have no problem climbing steadily all the way to the top while their young grandchildren keep stopping for breath!

Either side are ruins of buildings - there was once a huge monastery here and what's left of their refectory includes long troughs that held the rice. It gives a good idea of how many people lived here. At the top we remove our shoes and walk across a courtyard with access to a large stupa, a buddha and the sacred rock where a flying Mahinda landed. Everybody who comes here climbs the rock. There are no steps - just notches cut into the rock and a hand rail to pull yourself up. It's worth it when you get to the top - beautiful views for miles around. I also go up the steps to the buddha - the first I have seen since I've been here.

In the courtyard there is a slab to leave the beautiful lotus flower offerings - the mass of pink is so vibrant to this grey day. I leave mine and I suddenly and inexplicably think about my late, beloved Grandma who was such a symbol of nuture for me when I was a little girl. I'm very moved! I find this place very calm, very peaceful and very welcoming. I wonder if all the sites I go to while I'm here will feel like this. Significantly as we leave it starts to rain again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb