Cyling around Anuradhapura


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » North Central Province » Anuradhapura
December 3rd 2013
Published: January 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

AnuradhapuraAnuradhapuraAnuradhapura

Ruwanwelisaya stupa
The best way to get around the huge ancient capital city that is Anuradhapura is to rent a bike. The bike has no gears and no cushioning but it's great fun. I was a bit nervous about cycling through the traffic of the town, but in spite of the appearance of chaos, it all seems to work. Like yesterday it's raining pretty much the whole time. Unlike yesterday there are lots of people here - it seems to be a day out for many Sri Lankans, plus a place of pilgrimage for all buddhists. There is so much to see here - giant stupas said to contain holy relics including one huge sky blue one, the beautiful 'moonstone' slabs at the foot of temple steps, and the sacred Bo tree that apparently dates back over 2000 years. I have to admit I am confused as to what is and isn't appropriate here considering the people around are here for devotional reasons. Is it ok to turn my back as I walk out of a temple? Am I allowed to leave a lotus flower on the Bo tree shrine? Can I take photos? I am reassured I can do all these things but I do feel slightly intrusive as people around me are praying. The rain does not stop. I have some lunch in a quiet spot by one of the huge tanks as another shower passes over. A kingfisher lands on the edge of the tank - you have to be incredibly patient to see one of those at home! Hidden in some woodland nearby are some more smaller temples and I spend a happy few minutes wandering around here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

AnuradhapuraAnuradhapura
Anuradhapura

Rain coming in on one of the great tanks
AnuradhapuraAnuradhapura
Anuradhapura

Kingfisher and another bird I can't identify
AnuradhapuraAnuradhapura
Anuradhapura

Hidden moonstone
AnuradhapuraAnuradhapura
Anuradhapura

Thuparamaya


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb