The Society of Kumbi


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Kandy
October 5th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Every day in my bathroom is a grand exploratory adventure as I slowly discover the ways of the society of kumbi (ants) skittering across the celery green walls. I initially became aware of the existence of the kumbi at what has since become known as the Sink-Window Pass, the most visible and most vulnerable construction of the colony. Stretching from the elevated window above the toilet to the right-hand lip of the pedestal sink, this path happened to be my first point of attack during my early efforts to disperse the colony, efforts that would prove to be completely and totally futile.
Nearly a week after the discovery of the Sink-Window Pass, the Grille Bridge was discovered across the security bars of the elevated window. For whatever reason, it seemed the society of kumbi preferred to enter the household premises from the top of the window as opposed to the bottom. Simultaneous to the discovery of the Grill Bridge was the unearthing of the Washing Machine Cord Expressway, or the WMC Expressway for short. In addition to scaling the walls to the window, the kumbi, I learned, were forging their way across the shower tile down the WMC Expressway to the diamond patterned floor.
Around this time I had a revelation. I had always assumed that the kumbi were migrant workers of sorts, that their base of operations was located in the outer reaches of the brick exterior of the household; yet it occurred to me that perhaps - perhaps! - the kumbi were actually based within the household, building a life in the lower reaches of the sink. I had noticed, occasionally, upon turning on the faucet, that several members of the kumbi society would skitter across the sink, attempting to escape the unanticipated deluge of water. Perhaps I had disturbed them en route to their ancestral home. Or perhaps the sink is the kumbi version of the beach.
Although I am unsure as to the specific diet of the kumbi, I have seen several individuals carrying the carcasses of the tsunami mædua - or the fruit fly stateside. I mention this only in light of the recent discovery of what seems to be hundreds of miniscule corpses piling up beneath a hole in the bottom of the pedestal sink. I had previously thought the collection to be particles of dirt from some unknown source, but due to the unnatural alignment of the perpetual mounds to the cavern in the sink, I am forced to reconsider. Similar dirt-like specks have further been discovered at the base of the frame of the door to the bathroom where, nearby, another colony of ants seems to have constructed a base.
Whether or not these two tribes of the kumbi are related to one another remains to be seen, though I believe further research into the matter in the coming month should clarify the situation. For the time being, I hope to plan an attack on the two potential sites of the kumbi homeland: the sink and the doorframe. If mission Raid™ Storm fails to attain its objective, the Jaymanese Armed Forces may have to admit defeat and hope the kumbi are not a society given to retaliation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb