conflictus maximus


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Kandy
June 17th 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

freeloaderfreeloaderfreeloader

dungon. the field station mascot. rescued from some crazy small little cage inside a temple...now his ego is of holy proportions. demanding breakfast and dinner.
another type of conflict

more prescient than the lion-tiger conflict...is the human-elephant conflict. and I don't mean ganesh.

i've never been this close to real, live wildlife conflict.

a most grateful guest, i visited the field station of the Sri Lanka Wildlife Conservation Society outside of Wasgamuwa Park for several days (and by outside, I mean like an hour from a proper little village. middle of nowhere basically.).

http://slwcs.org/visitus.html

recuperating from my nasty buddha-belly-bug, i only got to help out (or rather, tag-a-long) a tad, but I learned a whole lot.

arrival to the field station:
night, after a very, very bumpy ride. makes it more authentic.
the next morning, rose at 6 to a rising sun,
to a landscape which immediately set off my internal gramophone on Circle of Life.

...as I sat pondering which animated friend may come plop its adorable disney self next to me, a small, real live furry face animated indeed, peering at me from north, northwest, and east coordinates, hiding above in the rafters.

After a treacherous evening clutching the toilet, I was in no mood, and didn't feel like getting
rubbing my eyes in disbeliefrubbing my eyes in disbeliefrubbing my eyes in disbelief

did my open-air field station quarters really look out over this elephant country?
rabies. so I tried to sort things out calmly with my new friend....

but he was relentless.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

turns out, he's the resident field post mascot. rock squirrel.

so, Capn', there's your first fun wildlife story.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

here's the not-so-fun wildlife story:

elephants = big
people = small
people = crop farmers
elephants = crop eaters

you balance the equation...

...the projects of 'Lankan Wildlife Conservation Society are brilliant. stuff WCS probably wishes they were doing...

simple, effective. sustainable.

really, check them out (and donate!): http://slwcs.org/visitus.html

the motto:
Saving Elephants by Helping People

for someone like me, who quite honestly until Senegal had always put animals in front of people...i totally get the 'Lankan Society's approach to conservation. so many talk about this type of stuff, but these guys are actually doing it. and with a smile on their face.

advising people on:
new crops that elephants find uninteresting
composting
kitchen garden design
elephant behavior
environmental education
fencing
data collection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

and better than tracking those elusive majesties through cinemagraphic heights:

I heard my first trumpeting elephant in the wild!

then the
whoop d do d doo-doowhoop d do d doo-doowhoop d do d doo-doo

there's nothing like the smell of elephant dung in the morning. inspected and GPS'd each pile. those pachs probably think we're off our bipedal rockers.
next night, saw an amoebish grey blob in half moonlight.

and that was enough for me.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------


yeah, i'd like to hide in a treehouse while elephants roamed beneath me
yeah, i'd like to see them parade across a savanna
yeah, i'd like to see a leopard
yeah, i'd like to hold a conversation with a chimp
yeah, I'd like flipper to come sonar cure my aches and pains
yeah, all those wildlife dreams...that I keep chasing...

but,
besides hugging my camel (and that with a metal bar between us),

I know the best kind of human-wildlife contact, is snuggling up to my cat.

that is, before she notices, and sets out the claws to begin the human-feline conflict.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

rare sighting!rare sighting!
rare sighting!

elusive wildlife conservationists, known to hide out in their field burrows, no reason to leave with wi-fi and live-in cooks. caught them from my camo hide.
just to remind me...just to remind me...
just to remind me...

that 98% of our co-habitants are spineless, these unsettling arachnids hung about everywhere...
duck, duck...duck, duck...
duck, duck...

duck, goose! one of my best afternoons...getting to be half-baked in the baking heat whilst teaching sri lankan kids (ok, orphans...menno, was hard to not take one)...the magic of duck duck goose...
we know where the sidewalk ends...we know where the sidewalk ends...
we know where the sidewalk ends...

but, in case you were wondering about this one...
dish me updish me up
dish me up

brilliant. "quick" food restaurants cover their good plates with plastic wrap, easy to whisk off and use for the next eater. somehow, this seems lightyears ahead of indian borrow-from-the-already-used-plates-from-adjoining-table solution.


Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.2mb