Jeju Island


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
August 14th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So we made it! The flight was fine and quite short. They checked my bags though and wondered if I had any spray bottles. Why, I'm not sure, since my two backpacks were sent through checked luggage, not carry on! Oh well. I didn't have to throw anything away and I wasn't arrested, so all is good. 😊

We stayed in a little place last night that, believe it or not, got too COLD during the night! It was the first time that I had gotten cold sleeping since I'd been here! The owners of the place were sweet and didn't care if we paid up front or at the end and tried hard to communicate with us even though they spoke so little English. We had another hotel booked for tonight, tomorrow and the next night, so we've already changed hotels, gotten our room, and left our bags. They don't speak much English there either! Strange, really.

We have booked two tours for the next two days though; one to the east of the island, and one to see the west of the island. Unfortunately they're not taking us everywhere I wanted to go, so we may do some side trips today to the crater and/or the lava tubes. We'll see how it goes, as everything in this country seems to take longer than you'd expect.

Our new hotel is REALLY nice and I'm happy we're there. The taxi drivers seem to know where it is without needing a map or the name written in Korean, so that's a plus. Strangely though, they have a Korean and a Western restaurant, but neither was open when we were looking for food at noon. You'd think one would have been open, but they weren't. And even the guy behind the reservation desk couldn't really explain things to us in English. Could be worse!

Anwyay, we're off to see some sights!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb