Two weeks down


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Yongin
September 8th 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So i've been here now for two weeks and one day and my opinion of the place still hasn't changed much. I suppose that it doesn't help when it seems like all I do is eat and sleep. I've talked to a few other teachers from other schools in other area's and they really don't seem to be running into as many working hours as I have to put it. I mean really, it's bad enough that I have to work tuesday - saturday, but honestly is there any reason that I should need to be there till almost 7 pm on a saturday night and then have to call the owner of the school because they have locked me out of downstairs where my shoes are? I get that the school is brand new and there are going to be a few bumps in the road along the way, but everything seems like a complete and udder mess. I thought for a whole day last week that maybe, just maybe after I had heard that all of my weekday students had told their parents that i'm a great teacher I would be able to do this for the entire year....but I really don't see that happening again.
Anyways onto a funny story of sorts. I've been around Yong-in quite a bit, and I have never really seen a whole lot of people...besides the crazy drivers on the streets... until Saturday and Sunday at E-mart. I swear, every person that lives in Yongin was there, it was like a zooooooooooo. One Woman drove her cart into me for fun I swear! In Canada people would apologize if they hit you, but here, it's like they give you a "you're in my way" look. They also just push you out of their way if you're standing where they want something and leave their carts in the middle of the aisle so that no one can get through.
Yesterday all of the teachers, minus our director who is currently in Japan, had a small dinner party! We were supposed to be having these once a week and we were going to learn a bit of korean, butttttttttt we ended up just eating, chatting and watching every episode of Celebrity Jeopardy that was every made. It was a good time and it did make me feel a lot better. Speaking of things that made me feel better, while we were at emart yesterday we had baskin robbins <3, it was glorious really! And honestly not that expensive! It was roughly 2.80 for an ice cream in a waffle cone. We also had some pizza this week and chicken when we all stayed late at school one night.
I don't think that I have anything else exciting to share, the trip to everland got postponed but next weekend the girls want to go into seoul again drinking, we'll see, Jaime and Jenna want to go to a dance bar, myself, Pam and Rich want to do a pub, so maybe we'll split up once we get in there! There are also some festivities going on during the rest of the weekend as well. We'll see, it might not be a smart idea to travel next weekend since every Korea family will be going away for Chuseok (their verson of thanksgiving)....we'll just have to wait and see.
Miss you all lots 😊


Advertisement



8th September 2008

Settling in
Angela, I have thought about you a number of times since you left and I'm glad to read that you are settling in with your new job. Let me know what you miss the most that I can send through the mail and I will send it. Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can. Danny Kaye
18th September 2008

I miss the smell of the ocean most, haha but that can't be sent by mail, besides that I really miss red rose tea. It's so odd, they have every flavour or tea in the supermarket besides orange pekoe which we all find extremely bizzare!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb