First Day on the Job


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
September 9th 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m finally getting accustomed to this new schedule…waking up late (which is still before noon for me) going to work from late afternoon through the evening, and then staying up until the wee hours of the next morning…and doing it all again.

At 4:20 PM, I addressed the first group of students in my ESL career as their teacher. The small classroom seemed even smaller, as all the desks were occupied by the 14 studious faces before me. It was much less nerve racking than the demonstration teaching class that I experienced last week - in front of 12 of my colleagues and the school directors, but it was still a first for me. The first class of the day, the first group of Korean youth that would look to me as a guide, the first ESL lesson that I would ever give, etc.

My feet are a little red and puffy, I feel drained, but I also feel proud and excited. My first day is over and it went quite well. I really enjoyed working with the kids, and especially like my advanced class of 10. I think that many of the students took a liking to me already and I hope to build strong supportive relationships with all of my students over the course of the semester. The most important part of teaching English to a room full of bright, inquisitive Korean children is the same most important part of walking into a room full of businessmen and women and giving a presentation about the latest industry trend. Confidence. You have to be confident - outwardly to the kids and inwardly to yourself. You have to show them that you know the material and you know how to manage a class. And you have to make yourself believe that you are capable of making a difference in their lives.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb