Back again!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
July 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, we made it! After an excruciatingly long flight, where I got bumped no less than 17 times as I was sitting in an aisle seat, we arrived in Korea. I had a hard time sleeping, more due to the fact that it was cramped (as usual) and I couldn't get into a comfortable sleeping position. I slept a little on the bus ride to Daejon, but found the bus air conditioning a little too chilly. Oh well!

We got our room assignments, and I have to say that cleanliness is not the staff's forte at this location. I will not be walking into the toilet room without shoes anytime soon; the floor is filthy and apparently the last people to use the room missed peeing into the toilet by a mile. :P Gross!

After showering and changing, and eating a breakfast of Frosted Flakes (I couldn't stomach the beef and rice dishes) a group of us walked into the nearby shopping district to look around. The mall-like building was still closed, but after some more exploring, we discovered a Mr. Pizza in the neighbourhood! I LOVE Mr. Pizza! I don't think it was there last year, so I'm quite delighted to see the new addition. :D I think we'll be making a trip there soon.

We have orientation this afternoon and tomorrow, and I'm hoping that tomorrow we'll finish early enough to head to downtown Daejon for some more shopping and exploring. I'd like to hit the 1000 won store (like a dollar store) and perhaps pick up another Paul Frank watch, or something equally fun.

I'll keep you posted on how things go! :D

Advertisement



28th July 2007

Target Practice
Hey Sue, sorry to hear of the target practice potty issue! Mr. Pizza sounds like a good place. A Mr.Beer next door would be perfect! Have a safe, happy trip!
28th July 2007

Glad you arrived safe and sound! Aww no kim chee for breakfast? :P Can't wait to read more of your adventures. Take care!
28th July 2007

Jess, there is ALWAYS kimchee available, at every meal.... I just choose not to eat it. :P Sush, there may not be a Mr. Beer next door to Mr. Pizza, but they serve beer in the restaurant, and there are a million bars along the street nearby. Not only that, but you can buy it in the 7-11, and sit out on the street drinking it. :D
29th July 2007

They're grrrrrrreat!
Mmmm.... I haven't had Frosted Flakes in a long time. :) I'm glad you made it there safely and I hope you have a lot of fun out in Korea and China - I look forward to hearing of your adventures in Asia!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb