Slow down with 4 days to go


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 15th 2006
Published: September 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Training has been a little subdued since the beginning of this week. I was informed that because the TKD season is over, and that Korean ThanksGiving is in two weeks, that the school semester is winding down, therefore training is winding down.

We have still been doing tough morning training (i.e. running and sprints), but the afternoon is usually filled with some sort of ball sports (soccer, basketball, some other form of soccer). I have been mitt kicking with an injured korean boy, who has been kind enough to hold for me whilst i hit them.

The story behind this boy's injury is quite tragic. About 2 months ago, a visiting Italian TKD team came by and were sparring (as usual), expect this boy sustained a corked leg from one of the visitors, which was later compounded by another class mate whilst sparring later on.

What resulted was torn ligament, a broken femur. What left is a 30 cm scar down his left leg. He has been on crouches ever since, and will go back to hospital next week for another round of surgery. Effectively this means his TKD days are over.

So having endured 4 days of afternoon soccer matches, i've called it an early night tonite.

Not much in the way of sight seeing, as I am biding time until I move to the Hotel (on Monday) - YAH - HOT WATER.

Having dinner with Mr. Lee and Kim InDong tomorrow night, so no soccer for me (YAH)..

Thens it's all down hill from there - Monday morning training, then afternoon I move into the Hotel for 1 night - then HOME.

Looking forward to a much needed rest before the 14 hour flight home. This will probably be my last entry until I get back to Australia on the 20th so I hope that this blog has been informative.

And for those wondering, the sore throat has cleared up, and I am feeling much better.

Looking forward to seeing you all back in Melbourne.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb