I'm fine thank you and you?


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
April 11th 2007
Published: April 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Be Careful!!!!! He has a Nipe!Be Careful!!!!! He has a Nipe!Be Careful!!!!! He has a Nipe!

His name is Dororo He's keroro sold memver He's a soldier He is Rich He likes nipe Fight He is negative Becaful alien! One more time Becaful He's alien!!!
So, today it's english listening tests for the first 3 periods of the day. They play the listening test over the intercom in certain rooms. So, I have the whole morning free. Gives me time to prepare for my 3 grade lesson plan aswell as my teachers classes I have every Friday. I finished the 3rd grade lesson plan, so I thought I deserved a break.
I checked the weather network and supposedly it's going to rain for the next 10 days in Seoul... although the sun is shining presently... which keeps the smile on my face.
I'm looking forward to some time off other then weekends. I've only been here for a little over a month but it drains you a bit. I, at times, feel like an english speaking machine. Lots of my free time is spent talking with teachers or students who would like to practice their english. The maintenance guy is now even wanting to learn! I think it's great that they are so enthusiastic about learning english but it gets a little tiring at times. I'm not having an actual free talking conversation. I'm speaking very slow, using simple vocabulary and correcting the person I'm
English NameEnglish NameEnglish Name

As you can see at the top of his drawing he wrote "english name". I told the class to write their english name on their drawing before handing them in.
speaking to... not my ideal conversation. And sometimes I just get in moods were I'd like to be alone.
Thankful today I'm not having any interruptions, which then re-energizes me and I'll be ready for some more slow talking conversations in the near future😊
My co-teacher has gotten feed back from my students and they are very pleased with my teaching methods. My co-teacher told me she is very surprised at some of the students who participate in my classes. She says that even the very low level students who usually don't try want to join in on my lessons. Makes me very happy that I'm making some kind of difference.
I will start after school classes next week. I'll be teaching 3, 45 minute classes. 9 first grade students (grade 7 students in CA) on Mondays, 12 second grade (grade 8 in CA) students on Tuesdays and 15 third grade students (grade 9 students in CA) on Thursdays.
These particular students are choosen by their homeroom teachers. The teacher chooses students who are from one parent families or low income families who will never have a chance to afford to go to a private english school. They also ask
So kind!So kind!So kind!

This is my friend Tae Su He is very ugly boy He is short and tool but he is not nice boy and he is doesn't have brain
the student if they are interested in joining my after school class. Therefore I don't have any students who are forced to be there. They are all willing and wanting to learn english.

Well back to planning lessons!

I've added a few drawings my students did for their homework. Their assignment was to draw their favorite person and describe what they looked like.







Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Aren't best friends the bestest?Aren't best friends the bestest?
Aren't best friends the bestest?

This is my friend Byung Gun He has a big handsome face He has small black eyes and a ugly smile Him Hair is short and straight He is tall and some fat


11th April 2007

hey! those drawings are great. koreans are so honest!! it's crazy! teecha-you're crazy!!! haha got that a lot. sounds like you are keeping busy. i love the after school classes. that's such a great idea. how are brendan's classes going? when does summer break start? i miss you!
12th April 2007

Whoaaa! Korean's sure don't hold anything back!!
What a great idea to measure your students' writing and English abilities but boy they sure aren't inhibited when it comes to describing how they feel about their "favourite" person!! Hahahaha! With your expert tutelage, I do expect that maintenance man to have mastered the English language by the time your year is up though. :>) You should pride yourself in the fact that all these people are coming to you to learn YOUR language. That has got to feel good to be helping them with something they are so passionate about.

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb