Petit Update


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

TryingTryingTrying

Boys trying their best at a Korea traditional dance
Things are going wonderfully well. Enjoying teaching very much!! Things are just great this year. Partly, probably because I know the country this time and there's not as many surprises. I have a great feeling about the year ahead of us. I'm feeling confident, comfortable and content!

I have a fan base in my school already... 3 girls come into my class almost every chance they get and say " Jessie, we are your fan!!" I've been told many times that I have a "small face" which is a compliment I've been told. I've also been asked several times by my students if I've had plastic surgery... If my hair is my natural color, and if my boyfriend is handsome. I've been told by my students, girls and boys, that they like my body, that I'm very beautiful and at least once a day someone shouts out "I love you" in my class or in the halls. God bless Koreans! It's fantastic to be a foreigner in Korea... you feel like a celebrity!

I'm really enjoying teaching the teachers at my school aswell... I thought it would be tough but I find myself looking forward to meeting up
Foreign English TeachersForeign English TeachersForeign English Teachers

Learning to play traditional korean Drums. Our instructor was fabulous!
with them for our classes once a week. The teachers are so friendly and laid back. They've been giving me positive feed back from my classes and are making me feel good about my teaching abilities.

Koah's doing great, and is feeling right at home. She's healed from her surgery and had her stitches removed this past week.
We don't have internet or cable yet in our apartment but I'm set it up so we'll get it hooked up on Monday after school. I stealing a connection right now from someone near by and must type fast for fear of loosing it!
On that note, I'm quickly going to load up a few pictures from our SMOE (Seoul Metropolitan Office of Education) Orientation and of my "bad cat".
I'll clean up our apartment this weekend and then take some shots of the place for you all to see, as I'm sure some of you are curious as to what it looks like.
Until next time!




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Korea Middle School StudentsKorea Middle School Students
Korea Middle School Students

At a school we visited to observe a class of a 5 year experienced Foreign Teacher
Toddlers get their own Toilets!Toddlers get their own Toilets!
Toddlers get their own Toilets!

I just had to try for comparison reasons!


23rd March 2007

GREAT TO SEE SOME PHOTOS!!
It was great to observe a bit of what your orientation was like....what a wonderful start to your second year!! Glad to see you have such a "celebrity following" in your school....your Ginger coloured hair will do it EVERY time! :>) You sound like you are extremely happy with every aspect of your new experience in Seoul so far, both at school and with your home life. Couldn't be more pleased to hear. Looking forward to your next entry and photos of your new apartment. Missing you still! Love Mom, Dad and Java
24th March 2007

Glad to hear from you
Glad to hear that your second year has started off so well! You seem to be so enthusiastic and happy about everything that is going on. Go, girl, go!!! enjoy every single moment! I envy you! xxx Ethel
15th April 2007

Hi Jessie! I'm so glad you're settling in again and having fun! Can you believe there is still snow here?? It melts as soon as it hits the ground, but enough is enough! I can't wait for Puerto Rico! Less than a month! You have to watch "Lost in Translation" if you can. I thought of you. Scarlet Johanson looks like you! Anyway, lots of love to you!!! Hugs,Andrew

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb