Fun Times Past and Present


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Yongsan-gu » Ichon Station
March 26th 2011
Published: March 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Some days are filled with times of reflection on the good times of the past and the exciting times of the present. Over the last two weeks I have reflected back on the very beginning of this journey. One significant send off event I revisited was that of our dearest family and friends gathering to say goodbye. Jeff and Kaycie pulled off this surprise of a lifetime which started our journey to Seoul. I have attached a video of this big event. As I move forward in writing this blog I also will reveal my newest memory maker moments last week.
Here in Seoul we have encountered both the very bitter cold and the signs of slightly warmer spring days. The trees are just beginning to bud. Spring and the heat of summer are just around the corner.
I find it interesting how our bodies can adapt much more rapidly to change, however, our minds tend to be much slower in accepting to acclimate. Take exercise as one example, our bodies are rearing to get into shape, however, our minds hold us back from attempting the fun challenge. What is up with that! In life change happens and our body accepts the transition where our minds lead us. Before my journey each day of walking outdoors 10 minutes each way to the subway station at times becomes a challenge, especially those days when its cold. My body is ready to go, but my mind is procrastinating with many excuses as to why not to endure the environment and exercise. This walk also consists of some climbing up and down. Once I am out, I enjoy the adventure and sense of accomplishment. The subway journeys are becoming much easier now. I rarely find myself in situations of being lost. I wish SA had this type of transit system, it is so inexpensive (close to 1.000 Won or $1 per trip) and convenient. Who can complain about that?
Funny Weekly Highlights:
Told the taxi driver, "Yeogi" (here), when I realized, I think I mean 'Cheogi' (there), then I began saying, Yeogi a-ni-yo Cheogi. By this time I am nervous and getting all confused so each time I say 'Yeogi' he puts on the brake and then I say 'a-ni-yo (no) Cheogi', he puts on the gas, just imagine how funny this moment became. I felt like I might soon get whiplash. The end result is that he and I never gave up and I arrived at my destination.
Yesterday Matt & went shopping in Namdemun Market. Matt pulled our empty cart on wheels, which he has named, 'doggie'. Doggie continued to run over his heels, as this cart is made for someone much shorter than he. He was such a trouper, thanks babe. On our trip home I took over pulling our doggie of purchases home.
We found some wonderful chopsticks, spoons, blender, humidifier, orchid plants and a fountain. The salesclerk at the fountain booth did not speak any English. So I am confident I can work out this transaction, what better way to practice my Korean (wrong). I pull out my pocket dictionary trying to tell her we would like to have the fountain delivered and negotiate to reduce the price. Matt's by now is saying, "let's just call someone". Other store clerks ended up helping me out who could understand a small bit of English and helped me by reading word for word out of my pocket dictionary. Success (I think) , the fountain will be delivered on Tuesday.
Weeks Journey-
My journey begins with a pretty consistent weekly routine. I assist with ESL on Mon. evenings and early Wed. mornings. The biggest challenge is getting them to send their homework on time. They are learning English so fast and I am proud their progress. We do have a good time in class. Baked 8 loaves of Miracle Banana Bread this week. Yummy, my classmates each enjoyed sharing my treat! Matt and I too partook in eating 2 loaves ourselves.
Hanji Painting
is progressing as I am now doing the class 6 hours a week with homework as well. My goal is teach this art skill once I am back in the states. My teacher Sungsil shared it will take me a year to get the skill down well enough to teach. Sungsil is a very talented artist and a loving person. I enjoy my time with her.
Korean Culture, Language & Herbal Medicine-
I am enjoying the challenge of my Korean Culture and Language Class with Mrs. Moon. This past week I spent 11 1/2 hours in two seperate days with her. Making up language classes is very difficult. The language is beautiful and I continue to struggle in retention and speaking. Mrs. Moon took me to the Gyeoungdong Herbal Medicine Market. She intrigues me with her knowledge and expertise in the use of herbal medicines. We visited a clinic and discussed the condition of ringing in the ears. I learned that a combination of antler and ginger in the proper proportions and techniques for mixing works wonders. The Herbal Doctor attributes ringing in the ears in many cases is related to low stamina and kidney problems. I learned so much from her about the herbs, fresh fruits and vegetables on this journey. Mrs. Moon is such a beautiful woman. I want to adopt her as my local grandma.
Matt has been so busy with this job, we spend very little time together so I cherish each moment. It is a season that will pass. We were blessed to go out to dinner at wonderful Italian resturaunt in Itaewon for dinner, it was lovely. I am so proud of him for his patience and drive in moving this difficult project forward. He is great at developing long-term relationships with his business clients and associates. We are excited to have Chandler and Carolyne from SA join us here very soon. Chandler is due to arrive in April and I believe the family will follow in June. This will truly be an amazing adventure for them as well.
I look forward to having you visit my journal blog next week, hope something intrigued you to get out and take on a challenge of some kind! Be blessed


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th June 2011

Love the food photos.
We have traveled a good bit but have not made it to Korea yet. We would like to. I'm enjoying your perceptions.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb