pinched on the ass, and new adoptive families!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu » Insadong
June 19th 2010
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well kids, it was another eventful day here; left to my own devices again today, I wandered...and got lost. I mean, REALLY REALLY lost. Dunkin' Donuts, you let me down! Walking though turned out to be the best thing for me. I met some really cool people. First, I woke up, took a shower, and sat around for about an hour before deciding to go and get some grub. So I packed up my things, and off I went in search of a filling, yet safe looking meal. Cut to me, walking an hour and a half later, dripping in sweat, up a hill in a heavily wooded area with lots of roses completely lost. So naturally, I sat down and tried to decipher on my handy dandy tourist map (all in Korean by the way)where in God's good green Earth I was. No such luck, when out of the blue, the skies parted, and up came this little girl who started to speak to me in the fastest Korean ever, followed by her rather nervous looking Mother, little brother and Grandfather. They started to speak to me, in English (THANK YOU GOD!) and tried to help me get where I was going. So, they showed me the way, and off I went....in a circle. I ran into them again, and this time they walked WITH me. On the way back they invited me to have lunner(in between lunch and dinner) with them! The little girl I met was OBSESSED with my hair. She kept trying to touch it when I wasn't looking, but on more than one occasion I caught her Mother swatting her had away. In the end though, I let her touch my hair, and she seemed thrilled. I also learned and spoke my first Korean word today, courtesy of this wonderful family, and upon leaving them I stopped everybody on the street who would listen to me and I said it. I probably looked a damn fool, but if I didn't care what anybody thought of me in the states, why start now? Overall today was a good day, and I hope to have another day just like it tomorrow. Next week I start work, so I have to get this all in now, right? Tucker, I love you, and am thinking of you. Just like I wrote on your wall, I have pictures up here of you, and everyone asked me about it. I told them about how wonderful you are, and all of the amazing things you have done, and what happened to you. You know what? They started praying for you. Some even lit a candle in the most beautiful church I've ever been in for you. Just know that you are loved, and that I'm thinking of you half a world away.
Annyong haseyo! Love you all.

Advertisement



19th June 2010

To be fair, I tooootally taught you that word like a month ago. Just sayin'. But don't worry, I won't hold it against you since you're about 0.000001% of the way through learning Korean. I'm probably the most encouraging commenter ever.
20th June 2010

Funny
You crack me up. How does it feel living with two new people? I hope you send lots of pictures please. I miss you.
20th June 2010

WOW!
You made friends! Are you going to see them again? I hope so. They sound great. Where did they take you to eat? What did you eat? I sure hope you are writing in a journal. I want to know more!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb