Military Weekend


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Itaewon
March 15th 2009
Published: March 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday afternoon I met up with Jaime and her friend Laura. We were on a mission to go to the Army Base to get some food and I desparately needed some Protein Powder. Yes, I know I always make fun of chris for his shakes every morning and night, but I am seriously lacking protein. Meat and Cheese aren't served here like in the US and to buy it from the grocery store is so much. Just a jar of peanut butter is 5 or 6 bucks. The cheese and meat are ten and higher. No thanks. I was going to start drinking protein shakes. We walked around in circles for a while and finally found some barbed wire fence and knew that we had to be close. We got on base and I got registered there so it was ok for me to go on and off base. Everything went smoothly, that made me happy.

We got some starbucks to warm us up. I had a chai tea latte. That was so yummy! We went to the Commissary and show'd my ID to the guy to get in and we shopped around. I had veggies and peanut butter, protein bars and powder, pudding ( thanks apryl lol), just all sorts of good stuff to keep in my room so i can eat healthy and not eat spicy rice or noodles 14 times per week. We got in line to checkout and the woman asked for my ID and something else I couldn't understand her broken english. She brought her manager over and very rudely he demanded "how did you get in here?!" He told me that i need a ration card but won't be able to get one becuase Chris isn't stationed here and he can't come over here to sign me up for one. So he said "you may be on base but you can't purchase ANYTHING" The part that made me the most angry was how rude he was. He really was an ass. There was no understanding, no im sorry but...it was "you shouldn't be in here...that guy isn't watching who he's letting in this place..." kind of comments. A short heavy man with glasses got a little bit of power in the grocery market and he was using it against me to feel some sort of power. When I said my husband was deployed so that was why he couldn't send in paperwork he goes "well then you just can't get one." I don't want people bending overbackwards for me. I'm on a base, there are thousands of women with deployed husbands...but I do demand some respect, just from person to person. I was patient, i didn't raise my voice or return his rude attitude, and I was still the one basically thrown out of the store...that's just wrong.

The rest of the weekend just went to shopping and getting some good Italian food. It was weird being in a place with all white faces, hearing english everywhere...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb