Byeonsan Bando National Park


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollabuk-do » Kunsan
April 5th 2006
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Byeonsan Bando National Park

This is my driving route

Wild Animal Sign?Wild Animal Sign?Wild Animal Sign?

I guess this is the type of wild animals they have. Looks like a cross between a small dog and a beaver?
Byeonsan Bando National Park

This past weekend I wanted to do something on my own, so Friday I went buy the health club to play racquetball, nobody was playing. But I did notice that the base was having a 10k run on Saturday, even though I have not run 10k in oohhh about 4 months, but I figured I could run it. Well Saturday was a beautiful rainy and windy day, there were maybe 10 people show up for the run, still thinking I could do this, we line up for our 9:00 am start. I was dropped about 10-20 yards into the race, but I stayed with my pace, very slow, and kept running, as the rain began to fall harder my lungs and legs convinced me to run only 5k, so at the 5k turnaround I hopped into the chase vehicle, and told the driver I was only going to run a 5k. So for only the second (the first time was in a bike ride in Keller Texas) time in my running/ridding career I rode the support van back to the start.

Sunday I decided to go to Byeonsan Bando National Park and see Naesosa temple,
PunchPunchPunch

Punch over looking a river in the park
one of two temples in the park. The weather started out like Saturday, but around noon it started to clear up and turned out to be a nice day.

Once you park, to get to the park is a short walk to the park entrance, but first you have to pass about ½ dozen little restaurants all selling grilled fish (some were just big enough to have been pets in fish aquariums) and the huge verity of Korean drinks, mainly liquor. The trail to Naesosa temple is lined with very tall pines, the smell was like any Christmas tree lot I’ve been in.

The temple I’m assuming is quite old, not having a Korean with me I could not get the skinny on all of it, I did find out that one the smaller bells was made in 1222 for the temple.

For you Punchinello fans sorry I could not get any better pictures, but I could not put Punch next to a Gold Buddhist statue without getting deported to North Korea.

And to the new owner of the Punchinello, he will be making his way back to you this week.

See ya



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Car in ditchCar in ditch
Car in ditch

This just looked funny, was driving along the road, and here is this car on its side in the ditch?
Punch taking a dipPunch taking a dip
Punch taking a dip

Punch in the Yello Sea
Before the parkBefore the park
Before the park

Here are some of the eating establishments, were you can get liqoured up befor your long hike
Food and DrinkFood and Drink
Food and Drink

The food and drink of choice. Grilled fish, Soju, Makoli and other Korean drinks
Trail To Neasosa TempleTrail To Neasosa Temple
Trail To Neasosa Temple

The trail is not to crowded today
Inside entranceInside entrance
Inside entrance

I don't know who the guys are (there are 4) but some people bowed to all of them as they entered
Punch by old bellPunch by old bell
Punch by old bell

This bell was made back in 1222
Inside  Temple Inside  Temple
Inside Temple

You can kinda make out the Buddhas
Punch by another old bellPunch by another old bell
Punch by another old bell

I do not know the age of the bell and drum


7th April 2006

You're in trouble
Hey Butch... I looked on the internet for those 4 temple guys... hopefully you bowed to them as well... if not, it says you're in for 10 years of bad luck! lol!

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb