jeju english camp


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju
January 6th 2007
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

GimpoGimpoGimpo

Gimpo Airport, there is a hand holding a mega screen
OK!
So this isnt a glamourous lifestyle but it is fun as hell. Every morning I wake up, dreading working my 12 hour shift, but then I realize how fun and easy it is, and I forget that I'm even working. But let me back-up

So I got on a bus to Gimpo airport, and took a two hour flight to Jeju Island (First Class!). As soon as we landed it was raining hard, and I found out, it rains 300 days a year here. I see it as a mix between London and Key West, loads of grey sky and light rain with tropical birds and plants everywhere.

From there I was picked up by three Koreans, all young but fluent in English (Fluency is something of a misnomer here. If you can carry on any conversation with anyone, you are fluent). They drove me to Halla College, the landing site for Jeju camp. I met up with other teachers and we did a walking tour of the city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Lost in a farmLost in a farm
Lost in a farm

We just started walking in this random farm
A view down the streetA view down the street
A view down the street

A view of a common street - they dont believe in street names for streets that arnt main thoroughfares, and the store numbers are placed there by order of establishment - just an example about how age means importance in their culture
We stopped to drinkWe stopped to drink
We stopped to drink

We grabbed a drink, they throw a bunch of free appetizers your way and the drinks really dont cost that much - usually $5 for a bottle of what amounts to be grain alcohol - and we tipped but they chased us out of the resturant as if we left the money
NAZISNAZIS
NAZIS

Turns out - Swastika means temple - I was really worried for a minute there
EelsEels
Eels

Stores have eels and fish and all those sorts of sea life that you can pick-out and eat there
My roomMy room
My room

Its awesome.
The CafeteriaThe Cafeteria
The Cafeteria

The facilities on the campus are very new, its just the dorm building thats shitty - but it makes sense as the kids are currently destroying it
The Only way to get drip CoffeeThe Only way to get drip Coffee
The Only way to get drip Coffee

You have to buy the coffee and set up the coffee machine yourself, LUCKILY! The instant coffee is actually good
Drinking againDrinking again
Drinking again

Another picture of us drinking
Finally - My classFinally - My class
Finally - My class

OK - so I work a ton, and I rarely get time to write, compounded with the fact that I'm tired and it takes a long time to load pictures, so I give one of my class and add more pictures in the near-by future


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb