The Sunday Orphans


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Gyeongju
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bethany, Flower and RoseBethany, Flower and RoseBethany, Flower and Rose

Goofing around --- takes up much of the time. We both try to speak loudly and clearly, and most importantly, in English while goofing. Ha. Sneaky education.
Diana, Charlie, John, Black, Juliet, Anna, ...Charlie left the second sunday, and Flower (she also refers to herself as Monkey) and Rose joined in the third sunday.
They have a bit more English than I have Korean, but ever so slightly. They're accents, however, are MUCH better than mine. Black is mischeivous to no end, but when being bribed with candy he bats his eyelashes and reels in the goof. He also draws excellent anime, especially when the activity requires paying attention and repeating the teacher in English. He can only utter a few words and rarely responds to our questions without Korean explanation from Diana.
These kids are much goofier than any those I taught at MoonKkang, but I assume they are more relaxed because we are on their turf. As well as the obvious reasons -- their parents, being absent from their lives, haven't put pressure on them to master English.
The only expected-orphan behavioral characteristics I've noticed - Juliet, who people call Piggy, or Pig (she's slightly pudgy, but doesn't seem to mind the comparison, and happily oinks when reminded of her nickname) has looked rather red-eyed for the past two sundays. She is not
Blurry tonguesBlurry tonguesBlurry tongues

Rose is adorable, always giggling, laughing, jumping on my back and pulling my camera in her direction. Unlike Diana, who is a bit older, she hasn't found any embarrassment in her captured image. She often ends the sunday session with a hug around my waist.
in these pictures, and neither is Anna. They were both downtown for dinner (strange...) this time.
I didn't capture as much of the orphanage to show, but it is a beautiful oasis on a downtrodden street. The outdoor walls are painted in cheerful, random geometric figures. There are gardens between the buildings and puffs of flowers where the brick path meets the dirt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Orphan KingdomThe Orphan Kingdom
The Orphan Kingdom

Very Urban Disney. I feel like the air in this small child-dominant community is fresher than anywhere else in Daegu. I love the feel. But, admittedly, it could also be simply the vibes of late Sunday afternoon in Autumn. I don't leave my office until 6:30, or 7:00 and so I most always miss the Sun low on the horizon.
Hooligans, I tell you!Hooligans, I tell you!
Hooligans, I tell you!

Everyone talks at once. Everyone yells for the green marker at once. Everyone accidentally rips their paper and pulls my arm asking, in English, for an unripped canvas. And then Black grabs my precious digital camera. CHAOS.
SilliestSilliest
Silliest

Of the sillies.
Looking pre-pubscentLooking pre-pubscent
Looking pre-pubscent

John and Black. It took several attempts to get them sitting, without squirming, without grabbing for the camera, without dodging under the table. So as I snap the picture they glare.
Looking pre-pubscentLooking pre-pubscent
Looking pre-pubscent

John and Black. It took several attempts to get them sitting, without squirming, without grabbing for the camera, without dodging under the table. So as I snap the picture they glare.
See it from his point of view.See it from his point of view.
See it from his point of view.

Arsty tricks. View from orphan eyes.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb