Gimcheon, South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Gimcheon
August 19th 2006
Published: August 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

GimcheonGimcheonGimcheon

View from my apartment
I left for South Korea on the 15th of September 2005. I wanted to explore a new country, and with the job opportunity that came up, I just couldn't pass up. The three weeks in Europe, and two weeks in Mexico, only wetted my appetite to see the world. After two weeks at home, I couldn't wait to leave.
My good friends Alex and Ben decided to get with me the night before I left and have a few drinks. A few drinks turned into a few pitchers, and a few pitchers turned into drunk beyond recognition. Got to the airport drunk at around 5 in the morning, and got into Chicago around 10. I left for Tokyo, and the 14 hr plane ride was pleasent. Another 2 hours to Seoul, and I had been travelling for almost 24hrs when I was finally picked up at the empty bus station in Gumi. A thirty minute ride to desolate Gimcheon--at this time in the morning--and I finally arrived at my new home. Went to a 24 hr market in front of the Emart in Gimcheon, and headed to my new apartment. From what I was told before I left, this place was great, and my time there, I had no complaints.
Gimcheon is a great city. The city has about 50.000 people. From what people told me, it has the second best air quality in South Korea. The city has a nice strip of a downtown, and the food district is really nice. The area around the city offers wonderful places to visit including Jikji-sa (Jikji Temple), and the lake near the city. My time there was wonderful, and it was right smack in the middle of the country where it let me explore Gyong-buk and beyond.
I miss my students, wonderful students, and Gimcheon is a beautiful place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

GimcheonGimcheon
Gimcheon

View from my school
GimcheonGimcheon
Gimcheon

view from my school
GimcheonGimcheon
Gimcheon

My students
GimcheonGimcheon
Gimcheon

My students
GimcheonGimcheon
Gimcheon

one of my students
GimcheonGimcheon
Gimcheon

my students


1st April 2010

I am in Gimcheon now!
Hi El Savaje, I am in Gimcheon now and I was wondering if you could help me figure this place out! I thiink i live in this restaurant district that you wrote about. I live next to "Ice Bar". Do you have any tips for meeting other foreigners here? Do you know any good websites for things such as the bus, meeting other people, events around town, etc? After your time here, what did you think of the place? Do you have any advice, tips or anything that you would want to tell someone who just moved to Gimcheon? Thanks! Mike mmanzi@alum.bryant.edu

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb