A Doctor's Visit in Paju, South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Paju » Beopheung-ro
October 12th 2011
Published: October 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

PharmacistPharmacistPharmacist

Rash Cream
On Sunday, we went out to the local Paintball field with 9-teachers from English Village. Dressed for the weather and happy for the event we shot paint at each other for three hours over four games. During the "kings" game I was belly crawling across the field at some point having to adjust my advancement because I was being heavily shot at I adjusted wiggling backwards when my shirt adjusted itself leaving me stomach bared to the ground.

Although later on my favorite round for the day was the "cowboy round." You begin in a small 20-by-20-foot space back to back with your opponent then walk five paces counting out loud. Next you spin around on your heels and just begin shooting or dive behind a barrel for protection. Both players have around 15 shots in their guns. Adrenaline pumping fun.

The following morning I woke up with this nice rash on my stomach. Obviously from the day before crawling around on the ground while playing paintball. As I left the apartment I decided to visit the on-campus nurse. She gave me two pills and said I'd be good. Tuesday morning, rash still there but I had work to
MedicineMedicineMedicine

Morning, Lunch, Dinner pill packets
do. I skipped the doctor's office until Wednesday because I was tired of the itching overnight.

Down to the doctors' office early Wednesday morning I checked in, sat down and read my book. Fifteen minutes later I showed the doctor my rash, told him where I thought it came from and he said through his mask, "okay, okay, uh-hum, okay." Next he leaned towards me, asked me to lift my shirt again, and rubbed his bare finger across the rash. Nodding he leaned back towards his keyboard, "are you allergic?" "No." "Do you like shots?" "Yes." "Okay, nurse please. Thank you." Smiling I said, "thank-you" and walked out. In the main room the nurse pointed me into another room. Pointing at the table she said, "please." Then pointed me to lay on my stomach. Odd, I thought. Then she said, "pull pants down." I laughed. "Ummm... can you put in arm?" I asked. "No, pants down. Hip," she replied. This went back and forth, twice.

In the end I shimmied my shorts down. Rubbing my hip I felt a gentle prick then a numbing sensation. That's that. I went out and paid my bill 4,100 won ($3.60 USD)
PrescriptionPrescriptionPrescription

and receipt 3,800 won ($3.35)
for a doctor's visit, shot and prescription. Thanking the nurses, I went down the stairs, around the corner and into the pharmacy. Handing over my prescription I sat down. Five minutes later the pharmacist was going over the pill packets, cream and instructions. Afterwards I handed him 3,800 won ($3.35 USD) for my medicine. Smiling, I thanked the pharmacist and walked over to Kimbap Chongu for lunch.

Sitting down, I ordered, "hannah bi-bim-bap je'say-yeo" (one rice with mixed-vegetables please). Eating my lunch I watched the ajumma's (older ladies) preparing food for the day. Standing up I handed over my 2,500 won ($2.20 USD) thanking the nice ladies for lunch and wandered down towards the convenience store. On the way down I spotted a couple of french baguettes sitting in the window at the bakery but I wasn't sure if I wanted one so I continued going to the convenience store. Here I picked up a bunch of bananas and a box of Ghana dark chocolate. Setting it down at the cash register the young clerk said, "4,300 won ($3.80 USD)." Handing over a 5,000 won, I received my change, thanked the clerk and walked out. Heading back up the
Banana BunchBanana BunchBanana Bunch

2,400 won ($2.12)
street I decided on picking up a baguette to make crostini, salad and soup for dinner. Picking up the bread the little ajumma motioned if I wanted it cut. I agreed. And as she was in the back cutting the bread, I picked up a 4-packet of sweet beanpaste rice balls and a peanut-butter cream bread treat. Setting down the bag she punched numbers into a calculator and turned it towards me. My total 4,800 won ($4.24) smiling I handed a 5,000 note and awaited change. Thanking the nice little lady I departed with my baked goods.

On the way up the hill I spotted a pathway lined with benches surrounding a local flower garden. Because it was a sensationally warm morning and I had my book Long Way Round, chasing shadows across the world by Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman, with me, I decided to take a rest, eat my peanut-butter cream bread treat, a banana and have a relaxing bit of time.

After thirty minutes I stood up, stretched put my book away and began towards SM Mart our new local grocery store. Stepping into the overwhelmingly bright florescent lights I went to the
Ghana ChocolateGhana ChocolateGhana Chocolate

1,900 won ($1.68)
cooler picking up 2-900 milliliters of milk and a packet of sunflower seeds. At the cash register the nice lady scanned the items and asked for 5,230 won ($4.62 USD). Handing over the cash I happily received my change and headed for the door.

On the remainder of my walk home I realized why so many people loved living in South Korea. It's because you can visit the doctor, see the pharmacist, eat lunch, go to the bakery, pick up fruit, a packet of nuts and a couple liters of milk for less than 25,000 won ($22.08 USD).

My six shop stop total was 23,230 won ($20.52 USD).

Just one reason why I will miss South Korea when we leave.










Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Fresh Sliced Baugette Fresh Sliced Baugette
Fresh Sliced Baugette

2,500 won ($2.20)
270g Sunflower Seeds270g Sunflower Seeds
270g Sunflower Seeds

2,200 won ($1.94)
2-900 ml Milk2-900 ml Milk
2-900 ml Milk

3,800 won ($3.35)
Doctor's Day LootDoctor's Day Loot
Doctor's Day Loot

23,230 won ($20.52)


Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb