Accidently "Babo" Korean Shirts & More...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Namyangju
March 26th 2010
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

*Babo = 'stupid' in Korean
**This particular blog has not been censored.



I had heard of the funny tshirts in Korea long before coming here. I had also heard that the less than perfect English with a little Korean thrown in (aka 'Konglish'), sometimes created humorous phrases..


...But some of the tshirts we've seen must have been created by someone with a motive - or an agenda!


They are beyond hysterical, but you have to wonder - Do the wearers have a clue what their chests are broadcasting? And who is behind the making of such shirts? A native Korean who lived in an English-speaking country? Or a foreigner who decided to get their kicks and make some money in the fashion world at the same time?


I've been promising this blog practically since I got here... And I've been saving these up from about day one. When context has added to the hilarity, it has been included. So here you go!:

(oh, and I've saved my favorites for last!)



Just Plain Funny:



On a man - "French Kisses ~ Paris"



"My common sense took the day off"


"Not first but best"


On the shirt of a woman wearing a skirt and heels - "Tomboy"


"BAPY Busy working lady
I'm texting you a baby"


"I went on vacation and came back on probation"


"Mom please buy me a elephant!"


"Waste Management #12"


On a baby - "Mom's love my "A" game"


On one of my students - "Little Playa"


"I Love Crap"


Also on a student - "Too Cool for School"


On a man in a bright purple baseball T & matching purple crocs - "I'm a Taurus - I'm stubborn"


" Number Nine" -Most likely taken from Nine Inch Nails


"Just give me some cream"



"My mummy and I agree: Daddy is charming"


In the Philippines - "When size matters - Think BIG!"



Also in the Philippines - "I have a big ?" (Big questions are important too!)


"The cold and the crazy"


"Love has failed me"


I saw this tshirt at Incheon airport on a guy also wearing a tweed suit jacket - "I love BBQ"


On my flight from Incheon to Narita, looking like the iPod logo but with a man sitting on the toilet - "iPOOD"


On a 5th grade student - "Hope, People need lovin' "


"Twenty but simply alone"



Misspellings:


A shirt with a pair of sneakers on the front -
"SNICKER"


"Cum Again"


"Feabless on the Field"



"Save the earth - change the furthur"


"Frankrin"


"In your carears
You will meet
many peeple.
All are signillcant
They deserve you allantion.
Hello Mouse! 1976"



Bold Statements:


"World Religions Destroy Innocent Minds"



"Tell your boobies to stop staring at my eyes"


"I can make you happy. Trust me. You won't regret it"


On a man in bright purple - "I'm a love junky and he's my heroin"


On a student's sweatpants - "Take me to bed or lose me forever"



What were they thinking?!:


"Some of my best friends are white"


"Mickey Mouse Sweet of Friend"


"Rabbit Don's Eat Candy"


"Clean Vintage Junior / Basic House / Get Reade for summer"


"Juror run away from Murderer"


"Dreams so real
Naturology
Edit - Some"



"Company
Big Pig
Union made work brand
Coalminer"


On Daily Planners in a bookstore:

Be careful, these might hurt your head...

"Life is travel
Me is becoming the preparation for leaving any time.
If the travel which is a life will be the possibility of doing with you together and thing example will be better"

"Odd story:
This odd story is a fictional story that a young girl follows a hoping rabbit and goes to a wunderland"

"Romantic Europe
Love is not time's fool
Though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle's compass come.
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks.
But bears it out even to the edge of doom"



Signs:

Seoil University

Coffee Mama

Jesus Dentist



My Favorites:

On a tiny first grader -
"Wafflish Waffle"


Seen in E-mart on a woman -
"I'm a tosser for wearing this design"



On a woman's HUGE grey sweatshirt/dress (w/heels!) -
"Ain't nothing but a G Thang"



On a student's pencil case -
"Love has to be made like bread"


Seen on a woman walking down the road holding a man's hand -
"Morning Wood Supplier"


I will continue to add to these for the remainder of my time here, or perhaps as long as I travel & see funny things in English! Just a few weeks ago Fran & I took home a salad & hours later I realized the take home container read "Salad - Fresh Grandma Style". What on earth?! Anything to keep us in good humour! xx


Advertisement



12th May 2010

T-Shirts in Korea
Actually, there are a LOT of people wearing actual Nine inch nails NIN T shirts with the logo and the band name on them...usually someone I think has NOIDEA who they are..or so it would seem....as well as the notorious Number Nine N(N) T-shirts...which are clearly a rip off.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb