My new schedule set in stone


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My new schedule set in stone. An English and Chinese training course for teachers in Dae-gu city set off from this week. I have to go a foreign language training center as an official trip in Dae-gu downtown every Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday after my English class in my school.
On every Tue. and Thu. I take an English class 2hours a day with an American Egnlish teacher, Aaron Adelman, from Chicago. He teaches ten korean English teachers including me in this class.
Yesterday, I got second class. we usually are talking freely about an unfixed theme, their chore and their news. especially, in yester day class, we had a chance to gain two expressions of street "slangs" in America. Aaron taught below these words.

1. 24/7 (twenty four seven)
It means "all the time, always available without break". In N.Y. city, a lot of store are open 24/7.
synonym : around the clock
ex) That guy study 24/7
You can call me 24/7
2. ace
It means " to do something very well, especially, a test. this word is originated in the first world war. when a pilot shot down more than five enemy's fighter in dog-fighting, named to this pilot as "ace"
ex) I'm going to ace this test.
Park Chan ho was an ace pitcher in LA Dodgers.
and we played "Two Truths and a Lie" game. It was very funny game.

On every Wed. and Fri. I take a Chinese class 2 hours a day with a Chinese teacher, 金蓮花(Jin Lian Hua) from 瀋陽(Shen Yang),遼寧省(liao ning sheng), 中國(Zhong guo). her name means " Lotus flower". she teaches about ten korean teachers including me in this class. I studied writing Chinese letters when I was young. and I had studied Chinese letters in my junior and senior high school. but this letters is old style chinese letters in T'ang Dynasty(A. D.618-A. D.907). This letters is applied to Chinese Taipei, Korea and Japan until now. I know that letters of today China was invented by Mao, He changed complex old style chinese letters to simple today style chinese letters.
I like reading 白居易's poems of T'ang period. He was a high rank official in T'ang period. but he protested his emperor's illegal decisions with his friend, 元微之. the King became angry and expelled him to HangZhou(杭州), far away from a capital city. He loved his people, his family and his friend with heartfelt. He left many poems in HangZhou. I would like to read his poems in original Chinese sounds. so I decided to apply this chinese class. really, I had travelled HangZhou two times, one time with my co-workers(teachers in Gyeunggi-do), Dec. 2002 and second time lonely, Aug. 2003. the West Lake(西湖, Shi hu) in HangZhou is very beautiful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb