I survived (barely) my first 2 weeks in Korea....HOLLA!!!!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu » Dalseo-Gu
January 11th 2010
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

hello all,

It's been two weeks since I've arrived in Korea. At this point I would like to stress a certain point that has been raised among certain members of my family. This blog space will in NO way measure up to even a fraction of how witty and philosophical Carolyn's letters home are. So, if you were expecting something like that than you will be disappointed. You will only find hard data, facts and mundane figures in what follows.........that being said...so Korea. IS AWESOME!!!!! Where to start. Everything is really really cheap. I can go to a Kimbab place 2 minutes from my house, have a full dinner and pay like $4 CAN. People for the most part are really friendly. They are really curious about you and like to come up to you and practice their English, ask you where you are from, tell you that you are beautiful, the compliments go on and on. Pohang is nice because it's got all the conveinent things in it that cities do but I still feel perfectly safe walking around at night by myself. I have amazing neighbours and incredible co-workers. My next door neighbour and fellow teacher is an American girl named Kate who is in no exagerated sense of the word has been my life saver. She has already lived a year in Pohang and knows where to buy the best clothes, where to get the best coffee, where to drink, what to eat. She has been showing me around Pohang and thank god for her because without her I would still be afraid to get into a cab. Thanks to her I know how to hail a cab (hand pointing down to the ground) what to tell them to get home, to get downtown, to get to Emart (Korean Walmart) and where to stop. The first weekend here she took me to a really cool bar called S bar. We drank Soju for free and luckily we are both cheap drunks so that was all we really needed. S bar has an amazing fire show where basically the bartenders juggle fire a foot from you face. I posted a little video of one guy setting his leg on fire but that wasn't even the best part. Aftewards the owner of the bar lights a huge tower of martini glasses on fire and blows it out, then hands out drinks to people sitting at the bar. I didn't get one but the entertainment was incredible!! I've done a few other things too like Jukdo market, Emart, the beach, seen a bit of Edon (another neighbourhood in Pohang), visitied a few of the foreign bars last Friday. There is plenty to do and everyone is very friendly....

The job is a challenge. The administrators at the school push the teachers really hard. I have been working about 9-12 hour days since I arrived. I started working the very first hour I arrived in Pohang so it has really been a sink or swim experience....anyways that's all i feel like writing right now...good night 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb