Quintessentially English....


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
September 28th 2006
Published: September 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Not only am I learning loads about Korean culture but also, from hanging around with English speakers from other countries, I'm also finding out what it is that makes me English.

I went umbrella shopping the other day (honestly, Korea has cornered the market in funky umbrellas- they're so cute!). I picked out my umbrella and the guy, casually as you like, went to open it. Inside my head there came an unexpected 'nooooo bad luck!' so loud I thought I might have said it. I mean come on, I don't really believe opening umbrellas indoors brings bad luck- do I!?

Plus we English are so bloody polite!My co-worker Will is Canadian and obviously hasn't had his p's and q's drilled into him like I have- I'll give him a sweet and he'll just take it. I offer to do him a favour which he accepts but there is no expression of gratitude!It really gets my goat!

It's times like this I feel like my mother- handing something to him, waiting, pausing, then saying 'Well...' accompanied by an expectant look....' Oh erm right, thanks'.

Scolding people in public about their manners......soon I'll be spitting on tissues and rubbing food off people's faces....darn it, I do that too!

This morning Will and I went and bought our usual bagels and there was a Western guy and a Black guy in Dunkin donuts. I nodded and said hi, as you do, and the white guy came over.

Stupid white guy: Do they like us over here?
Midget: Well if you like them, they like you.
Stupid white guy:It's just that when I walk in and say hi nobody says it back.
Ill mannered but nice Canadian:Well do you know how to say hello in Korean?
Stupid white guy: Erm no.
Ill mannered but nice Canadian: Well that would be why then.
Stupid white guy: Well I lived in Thailand before and it was the land of smiles over there, here they just look at you.

As Will said afterwards, if a Korean walked into a bar in Texas and said 'Anung-hayseo' (hello to you and me!) then he probably couldn't expect the Texans to turn round and say it back.

Also in Korea, people just don't say hello to people they don't know. Apparently, if you say hello to strangers in the street you're considered crazy!

Why people would come to the other side of the world and expect everything to be like it is back home is beyond me, it's the cultural differences that make the experience darn it!

p.s I've got my camera working! Expect photos soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb