Singapore Slingin'


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 14th 2015
Published: October 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks,

Currently writing from Sa Pa in vietnam, but before I forget I thought i'd write about singapore.

An early flight from Sydney meant i was in Singapore for around 1pm. After 40 min train journey and a 10 min walk with sweat seeping out of me in the humidity I checked into my hostel- The Tree In Lodge. I stopped there for 3 nights and whilst it was quite homely, the bedrooms were pretty small and lacked any natural light. If it weren't for my alarm clock I would have slept in till 1pm confused by the lack of sunlight.

I had a walk around little India, ate a curry for around 70p before heading in for the evening.

The next day I walked around the botanical gardens, a 10km wide park with pretty flowers and trees from around the world. The big lake you seen in the picture has loads of tortoises peaking their head through the water. After lunch ( Chicken Laksa) I took the train to Marina Bay, A hotel sat on three skysrapers which is in the shape of a boat. The tourist deck was about 20 dollars a ticket but the bar on the top lets you view the marina for the price of a beer. Luckily the smog was not too bad that day as singapore had been suffering from really bad air pollution due forest fires in Indonesia.

Later that night i went to a food market which is put on a closed public road. There I had some really spicy stingray and fried rice.

On the Monday i spent the day being a bit lazy, I went around little india again with a new found dutch friend called Henk. We then got a beer in a pub and it cost $17! The equivalent of about 8 pounds. In the evening I went to the night zoo. The zoo was fab but I had to catch 4 modes of public transport to get there so i was quite tired when i got home and I had to be up at 5am.

Next up, tales of my adventures in vietnam :p


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb