Singapore DAY 2


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
November 17th 2011
Published: November 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is the scheduled fight of Filipino boxer “Pacman” Pacquiao & Mexican boxer Marquez. This makes the third meeting among the two men in which the previous two were controversially won my Pacman. So our itinerary started with watching the boxing match. The fight ended yet again with another controversial decision by the judges awarding a unanimous victory to Pacman. I am no boxing expert but despite my favoritism towards Pacman, I felt Marquez earned the victory instead.

After the fight which ended around Sunday 1 pm, Carlo and I walked to the eatery located within his condominium compound to grab lunch. I opted for the roasted duck with rice meal while he went for a Japanese style noodle soup. We then took the MRT station located directly above the eatery and headed for more sightseeing of the city.

Upon arrival at the city, we were greeted again with wet weather. So far, every trip I had made during this vacation included rain. I sure hope it does not continue to my trip tomorrow to El Nido. Our first stop was Singapore Flyer – a large ferris wheel that provides you a bird's eye view of the entire city. But due to the rain, it was shut down for safety precaution in case lightning.

So we went for a walk to the Marina Bay – home to the incredible architectural feat of the Sands Marina Bay Hotel. It was designed to resemble a cruise ship that sits atop three enormous towers. It is currently the most famous landmark in Singapore.

After some photo ops, it began to rain again so spent the rest of the day going from one shopping mall to another without ever stepping foot outside in the rain. All these shopping malls are interconnected by underground walkways. So one can stay away from the weather while shopping from one place to another.

For dinner, we went back to his condominium compound and ate at another eatery within the premises. Man, if me family lived in a place like this, we would probably never cook at home! For my last meal in Singapore, we had chili crab, freshly baked bread rolls (a great edible way to scoop up the yummy chili sauce of the crab), fried squid, and seafood soup. What a way to end my stay in Singapore.

Thank you so much Carlo and Leslie for your incredible hospitality that made my trip to Singapore a culinary experience that I will cherish forever!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb