Dili


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
January 4th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

DAY 1 (Thursday through Saturday), I lost a dat going over the date line.

Whoa! What a trip! I’m currently in the Singapore airport which is absolutely the largest airport I’ve experienced. I just spent over 24hrs of straight flying. I pretty much had to run to get my connections in both Seattle and Tokyo. I left Anchorage to get my connection in Seattle, then flew right back towards Alaska; flew right over Kodiak and Bristol Bay. Go figure.

I got into Singapore about 2:00am. My flight to Timor Leste doesn’t leave until 9:00am. I figured I’d just hang out in the airport-another adventure. They have 3 large terminals that you can get between by sky (rail) train. Having sat on my butt for 24hrs, I thought I’d walk around and get some exercise. Someone once told me be careful what you asked for because you just might get it. I arrived in Terminal 1, took the train to terminal 2 where I’d be departing; then back over to terminal 1 (lots of good restaurants). Well, somewhere along the line they shut down the sky train for daily maintenance. So I tried walking back to terminal 2 (and of course there were no directions for walking, or sidewalks, etc...). So lugging my 60lbs of baggage, I shot through the maze only to end up in terminal 3. Then to boot, they shut down the escalators and most of the elevators, and the airport is a 4 story maze. Anyhow, after the equivalent of climbing flat top, I finally got back to terminal 2, found a quiet little spot and got a hour nap in. A couple of shots from Starbucks and I’m good to go.

Kelly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb