Singapore In A Flash


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 7th 2010
Published: March 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I managed to make it to yet another country on this voyage. I had a choice between spending my time in Singapore or Kuala Lumpur and decided to do most in KL but just a day in Singapore as I had been there before. In true Chris Link style yet again I had to be up at the 'crack of sparrows', 3:30 that was to have enough time to get the cab to the skybus to be at the airport in time to check in. My flight was at 7:30 but needed to be checked in by 5:45 ish.

I made it in time with no problem and had a big nap on the hour long bus ride as I had slept all of four hours. I had the best dinner the night prior in this mis-match of a restaurant that had different vendors. I had this awesome curry noodle soup with tofu and chicken, and this other dish with noodles and a mix of things, really good though and with the help of a local.

I got into Singapore, exchanged the rest of my Malaysian Ringgits for Singapore dollars, found the subway and was off, so I thought. I got to one station had my headphones on, noticed people get off and then the train started to head back the way we came from. So I got off at the next stop and did what I was supposed to do.

I figured my first stop would be the historic district. I took some photos of an old firehouse, a church and then noticed there was a park that you could go into. So I headed into this park which was absolutely beautiful and well groomed. It had a fortress wall, some cannons and stunning trees and plants with views of the city peeking from behind.

I decided I would next head to the Arab quarter. I wandered for a bit gandering into the stores, I observed a mosque gathering of paritioners for some sort of Saturday afternoon celebration/lunch. I decided to go down a few other streets before heading on and there were nice cafe's and pedestrian only walkways.

From here I decided to head to a hawkers centre where you have a bunch of vendors selling different dishes. This would be lunch. So after wandering the dozens of shops, I decided on spicy fishball soup accompanied by a tiger beer. Both were great of course, then as a treat I had a desert called ice kacang, which has different syrups, grass jelly, red bean, it was good.

Decided after this to head to China town for a wander. I was looking for a piece of cookware but quickly found out I should've been in little India and not in China town, so there is where I headed. The second shop I walked into is where I found what I was looking for, it was a success.

Time was getting away from me and as a treat I was going to have the famous drink the Singapore sling at the Raffles hotel where it was invented. I wandered through the hotel as it is a landmark in itself. Marble floors, pristine early 20th century victorian detailing. I found the bar though, the long bar and had the drink I had been waiting for. It was pretty good. There also had peanuts on each table and you cracked the shell and threw them on the floor, a bit off for such a classy place, but when in Rome.

It was time to head to the airport as I had a flight to catch for Bangalore. the flight was delayed by an hour but that was okay as I had an hour and a half wait in Bangalore for Steve. The flight was good except for when I got caught in turbulance in the bathroom. I was about to exit the bathroom when the place dropped. I immediately ducked to try to have more balance and messed my neck up a bit but got into a seat.

I waited for Steve for not too long but I guess he was supposed to have the name of our hotel to enter the country and did not. They tried to call me but were not successful so after he waited about 30 minutes they made one up for him and we were reunited. More stories of India to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb