From Punjabi Chowk to Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived hours too early for my flight to Singapore - The oldies were going back to Punjab and that takes hours….. and I mean hours - nothing like going from one end of the UK to the other - perhaps twice the journey and you can get a good idea.
I thought I could get away with going into the airport early - oh no they don’t let you enter unless it’s a couple of hours until your flight - they sent me across to the visitors lounge to wait. Now as useful as this is - its not the ideal of places for such a long wait - the chairs or should I say Qoasy kill - all I can say is that you get numb. . And to top it all off - my plans of watching back to back DVD’s - died when my battery to the laptop did. The plug socks are high up and not what ur thinking - it would be high for Sonia - no - High for anyone that is less then 7 feet tall. It was only an hour left of my wait that I discovered that there are comfy chairs along all the walls. Oh well - next time.

Delhi Airport has been transformed - since last year - I go with clenched teeth to this part of my journey - you get moody staff, dreadful lines and aways a rush to get through security - Image my surprise when I arrived (in fact I’m still get up from the floor in shock) I was helped with my luggage - allowed to check in early and able to go security with relative easy…what has happened in the past year??? - its brilliant - just hope it lasts.

Coming from India, Singapore was refreshing. The place was so clean and tidy it was beyond belief - I had heard some good stuff about it but was surprised when I arrived.

Arriving at Changi Airport - I went to withdraw some money out of my bank, only to discover that the machine would not let me take anything out. I had of course send a message to my lovely bank informing them that I was planning to be overseas - with the date I was flying out to the date I returned to England along with the places I was visiting. So why was I not surprised at what happened - in time and a long phone call later they said they would sort it out. Apparently they thought my card had been cloned - paypal payment of #4 was the cause of all this - but somehow they had failed to tell me….. so finally an hour later I was able to get the bus to my hotel. I wait to see what more surprises they have in store for me.

I checked into the Golden Landmark Hotel - a little out of the way but still within walking distance to everything. I upgraded my room for a small price and headed to the executive lounge to make full use of the upgrade offers - which started with a Vodka Lemonade and a plate of canapés - who needs dinner hey!!!!!

My first day in Singapore started with a bus tour of the city - over the years I have found this to be the best way to get to grips with a city - typically tourist but worth it.

From the bus tour I headed down to Orchard Road to the shops of course - everyone that knows me would be surprised to hear that I didn’t buy anything but that would of course have something to do with spending a small fortune in India - I’m sure the amount I spend could keep a family in India going for a good year or two…hmm maybe even three…..

After a painstaking walk down Orchard Road (I advise a hat, a brolly and water for this particular walk) I arrived at the Hindu temple.. and the Buddest temple. It was moving to see the locals..both temples though they are of different religions.

The evening back again to the executive lounge for a quick drink and canapés (well I am Indian) and then down to the lobby to wait the coach to the night safari - who nearly forgot me by the way! On arrival at the night safari I took the main tram across the park - you get to see elephants, tigers, lions; deer’s and may more animals, mainly of the deer type you soon discover - didn’t know there were so many types. Though photos don’t come out as you can’t use the flash. I also recommend the creatures of the night show that they have there.



Advertisement



6th March 2009

Wow, already in Sing! You're making speedy progress! How you coping with the mileage... sounds like you're having a brilliant time (night safaris in Sing... really? Like a zoo or something?)... hope you're taking plenty of photos...! RM misses you loads here! And you must resist your resistance to buy... buy, buy, buy! :)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb