Upon Arrival


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
November 5th 2003
Published: November 5th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The First Leg

Heathrow Airport to Changi Airport

The MerlionThe MerlionThe Merlion

The symbol of Singapore
My journey began smoothly - made it to the airport, boarded the plane, and had a semi comfortable trip - except fo the fact that I sat next to two people who did not go to the toilet once on a twelve hour trip. However arrivng in Singapore it fell apart. Finding the correct bus was easy enough but due to the heat, the size of the place and sheer stupidity, I managed to get off the bus too late. This caused me to have to walk miles in the heat carrying both rucksack and daysack. Finally, tired and in bad spirit I found the road where the hostels and guesthouses were supposed to be. Most were 'closed for refurbishment' - i.e. two walls were missing. After being told by one guesthouse owner who only had rooms that I wouldn't find a dorm bed for less than Singapore $23 I tested my determination as a traveller. " Really, is that right - I really wanted a dorm bed more - but if I don't find one I'll come back." So back into the heat I went, wondering whether I would find a bed before I slowly turned into a gelatinous blob on the pavement.
Surprisingly soon afterwards I found one! The Lee Travellers Club was great; clean, friendly staff, and great people staying there. Thank God for that. Sadly after a shower I felt better and decided to take a look around, and managed to get completely lost on the way back. More wandering in the streets. This happened at least five times that day and the next - going three minutes from my hostel and ending up three miles away.
The night I arrived I joined Cayenne (pronounced Kyan) an American guy who taught in Japan, and Michael, a Swede, to the Night Safari in Singapore. It was pretty good - we took a tram throught forest, whilst our slightly dramatic guide told us to "Look, just there, if you strain your eye's ladies and gentlemen a magnificent creature is lurking in the shadows... if we are all very quiet he may just show us a glimpse of himself ... " It was amazing to see animals that normally you don't see awake in the zoos, or that normally don't do anything. Rhinos and Elephants are really impressive - much larger than I imagined. " But there is a downside, ladies and gentlemen, these magnificent creatures are preyed upon ... One species makes it impossible to for these animals to live ... one species ... our species". That guide was legendary, everything he said would cause laughter.
After eating my first meal in over 20 hours, Steak - really tasting the culture there - I returned to my hostel unbelieveably tired, without having slept for over 24 hours. I was knackered.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb