Lions and Tigers and Bears oh my!!!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 6th 2005
Published: December 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Well we pick up following my visit to the earth dragon. Myself and a couple of the lads head to Raffles hotel for a world famous singapore sling. Raffles is an amazing hotel very colonial. Your not allowed through the main hotel in your shorts but we're allowed to work through some side corridors. The rich people look at me as though I'm a peseant, I think it might be something to do with hair! Anyhow as most of you know I spent alot of time researching this trip and one of things I did with Clur before I left was sample a Sling (along with some other cocktails) in Joya just so I had a comparison and I have to say the sling from Joya was a lot better and cheaper. 18$ for a cocktail robbing gits! But hey you get free Monkey Nuts!!

Well in the evening I headed for the Singapore Night Safari, which was really cool. They have a creatures of the night show which was cool apart from the guy doing the commentry who had one of those really annoying accents that just gratted through me. You have a choice of walking around the safari or you can go on the tram. I opt for the tram as you get commentry as well. The highlight was walking through a bat cage where these massive bats are just inches from your head, it's the sort of thing my mum would like:-) At the end I have my photo taken with a snake, although don't ask me what kind it was as I was too scared to look!

The next day I head off to sentosa island to do the thing I've been looking forward to doing most in Singapore. Swim with the sharks!! Underwater world is your typical aquarim and takes me 30mins to get round despite having to pose for some Japanese tourists (obviously not seen an English bloke in an England top before). There is another guy doing the dive with me, he's a certified diver so he's allowed to feed the stingray's when we get in the water. Although I'm not certified the little bit I've done pays off and the guide allows me to feed them as well. It's a weird feeling as this stingray about 3ft across glides over my hand and sucks the food off it. The food is shells and you can hear the shell crack as the ray eats it. I then get the chance to stroke a shark thats sleeping on the bottom. My hand is a foot away from his mouth, what a rush!! There is not much danger that the sharks will attack as they are used to divers in the tank. But the thought is still there! Next I get t o stroke a lepoard shark, his skin is rough but he seems to like it. The instructor signals me to cuddle it. I can't belive it I've got my arms around the shark and its not stuggling to get away. Just truly awesome what a day!!!

From there it's back to the hostel for a bit of a rest, the gang from the hostel are heading out to a bar in the evening that is on the 70th floor of some posh hotel. I join them and there is good atmosphere might have something to do with it being happy hour and cocktails are half price. I take it easy as I've got to be at the train station for 8.00am. Got a cracking photo of the sunset though which we had to sneak into a posh restaurant to get it as the bar was on the other side of the floor.

Well that was it for Singapore next stop Kuala Lumpur.

PS I've got loads of photo's already but haven't been able to upload any yet. I will let you know when I do!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th December 2005

Research comes in handy
Glad to hear that your research in Joya has come in handy with your cocktail sampling. I also knew that your other research activities, no doubt taken in Tiles, have come in handy whilst stroking "rough skin" and ensuring the sharks are unable to get out of your clutches!! Seriously, glad to hear Smileybobontour is going so well. I am looking forward to the next instalment and of course seeing the pictures of the sharks!!
7th December 2005

disappointing sling!
Shame about that Bob, lets hope your ladyboy lives up to the trial run then eh! he, he. X
8th December 2005

Sounds like your lovin it ! Remember its a jungle out there !!

Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb