The Raffles Hotel


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
November 13th 2005
Published: November 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I entered the Long Bar at Raffles Hotel and have to say that at first I was slightly disappointed, I thought that I had walked into a downmarket Wetherspoons: Peanut Shells littered the floor and there was no manager hurriedly rushing around with a dustpan and brush. To make matters worse people were adding to the mess by throwing more on the floor! Totally inappropriate and ironic that in the poshest area of this 'no litter' metropolis people were living so recklessly-did they not know about the fines? The audacity!This is Raffles!

It soon came to light that this was tradition, apparently when Raffles first opened its doors in the late nineteenth century, the patrons used to throw the shells on the floor and its a tradition that has continued...Phew Raffles redeemed!

I ordered the obligatory Singapore Sling for a bargain $20, they have this stuff on tap, well in a jug already made, so unfortunately no shaker maker spectacle-fair do's I suppose when 99%!o(MISSING)f people in the bar were necking back the pink stuff. So I relaxed, sunk my sling and joined the masses by showering myself in Peanut shells. Happy Days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Singapore Sling and NutsSingapore Sling and Nuts
Singapore Sling and Nuts

Nothing really else to say about that!


8th December 2005

Not really the image I had either!!
Not at all what I thought it would look like, thought it would be like a Hilton iN London! Hope you doin well. Literally just about to step out the door for our xmas office do. Seems completely surreal that your over there getting a tan! Don't worry though babe, we'll save you a mince pie!! Naomixx

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb