next on the agenda...Mentawai Islands


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My flight is tomorrow, from Singapore to Padang. I've successfully acquired a 60 day visa this time from the consulate in Johor Baru, in Malaysia just over the border from Singapore.

I'm trying not to get my expectations too high, but the Mentawais are probably one of the most highly regarded surf destinations the world over. It's an archipelago about 100 kms from Padang, on the west coast of Sumatra. Sumatra itself is already pretty remote. The Mentawai Islands are quite remote. Hunter-gatherer tribes can still be found living in some of the densest rainforest jungle in Indonesia. There's a public ferry from Padang to Muarasiberut. From Muarasiberut transportation will be a little less certain and more expensive. I've been doing some research and printing out satellite photos from Google Earth so I'm feeling more prepared and confident. I'll include some photos from the internet till I can put up my own originals.

There's obviously no internet where I'll be spending the next 60 days so don't worry if you don't hear back from me till May.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb