Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
September 28th 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before flying back to Bangkok I thought I'd spend a few days in Singapore. The main attraction here appears to be shopping, and it's a city not really designed for a guy with my sort of budget. Although I did find a watch for 5 dollars which I thought was quite the bargain, until two hours later when it broke. After a few days it did all start to get a bit repetitive like the background in a Tom and Jerry cartoon, I'd walk in one shopping centre straight out into another. God bless the air con in these places though as outside being less than 100 miles from the equator it can all get a bit sticky.

It's a very clean and sterile looking place carrying heavy fines for littering, apparently chewing gum is even banned here. The city does also have a fair share of lucrative architecture, and given its history its all very reminiscent to that of Londons. One example of fine architecture being a donut shop simply entitled 'Donuts', which heralded some fine looking specimens. For some odd reason though you were not allowed to take a photograph of what they had to offer so with that being said I was forced to buy one thus totaling abolishing my former donut theory as I knew for a fact that there would be no mistakes with my single donut of choice. The picture I took hasn't really done it justice as it looks like a wod of dog crap that I've just scooped off the floor, but trust me, it was a mighty fine coco-pop donut....NICE!

On my third day I took advantage of the efficient and easy to use bus service (unlike Bangkok's) and took a trip the nature reserve of Bukit Timah. Singapore doesn't really hold the natural beauties that Malaysia does, Bukit Timah being one of the few places on the island that hasn't been plastered in concrete, apparently just 3% of natural forest remains on the island today.

Bukit Timah lies some 10km from the central business district of the city and I would say proved a nice little walk but that would be a blatant lie as it is after all jungle habitat and it only takes a small matter of minutes for you to become a sweaty grimy mess. I trekked up to the highest point some 164 metres up, but to a semi-professional mountaineer like myself this obviously proved no challenge...obviously.

Erm...that's about it really in a nutshell. Oh yeah the airport had free Internet which was quite spiffing. Another little update is that me going to Australia and New Zealand has now officially been scrapped, I'm basically enjoying Asia to much so I'm now going to be heading to China and Japan, yay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Coco pop donutCoco pop donut
Coco pop donut

actually looks like a bag of dogs mess but trust me on this one it was lush!


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb