Singapore Zoo and Night Safari


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Singapore Zoo
September 30th 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Singapore ZooSingapore ZooSingapore Zoo

Me with the human cast of Taking Back the Rainforest and a snake!
I arrived in Singapore last night and I'm staying at The Hangout at Mt. Emily in Lilttle India. It's a nice hostel and most importantly has air conditioning! It's not that hot here, it's just humid.

After getting lost a couple of times trying to find the bus stop I jumped in a taxi to get to Singapore Zoo in time for the first show at 13:30. The first show was Taking Back the Rainforest and some of the zoo animals had been trained to put on a performance to promote rainforest conservation, along with staff. At the end I had my photo taken with the staff from the show and a snake! I saw both of the other shows, one was with a sea lion, manatees and penguins and the other with Asian elephants. All of the shows were really good. There's loads to see at the zoo, I was there for about four hours but could easily have spent the whole day there. Most of the animals have big areas to run around in and Oran utans are free-ranging alongside the boardwalks. Walking through the zoo, it feels like you've walked into a jungle, there's lots of green
Singapore ZooSingapore ZooSingapore Zoo

View over the river from the zoo.
and it's built on the river so it's very scenic.

Tonight I went to the Night Safari, which is next door to the zoo. On the night safari you get to see the nocturnal animals. You can get on a tram that takes you around most of the park but the trams have a few carriages and it's sometimes hard to hear everything the guide is saying and their talk is heavily scripted. You can hop on and off though and walk around the park to get a closer look. There is a show that is on three times. I didn't go to the first one because lots of people rushed to see it at the beginning and I thought there might be less people at the other two. I couldn't go to the second one beacuse I was on one of the trams. So, I lined up for the final show and as we were queuing it started to rain and the show was cancelled. That was a bit disappointing because I think it's supposed to be the highlight of the night and the shows at the zoo were brilliant. I got soaked walking back from the bus
Singapore ZooSingapore ZooSingapore Zoo

White Tigers
stop to my hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb