Traveling across the world...


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
September 21st 2009
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Riverside PointRiverside PointRiverside Point

Not even a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this is Riverside Point in Clarke Quay by day.
Who would have thought that I would one day travel to Singapore on my own?!?! Last year if someone would have said I would get on a plan for 16 hours and then get in a cab by myself in a foreign country, I would have thought they were crazy, but I did it!!! and, I could get used to it too!!!! I got to Singapore around 9 pm monday and unfortunately Greg couldn't come to pick me up, he had a meeting to go to at the hotel so I had to grab a cab and make my way to the hotel. It wasn't a long ride but after spend 16 hours flying, it felt like forever! The weather was great - hot and humid, just how I like it!!! not necesarily great for the hair but who cares! It was a strange week, seeing as the race was a night race, they decided to work evings instead of days. So my days consisted of waking up at 1pm, when Greg went to work at around 2:30pm, I would go sight seeing until midnight (sometimes until 2 am!) get back to the hotel, shower and change then wait until Greg
Clarke QuayClarke QuayClarke Quay

restuarants by the water
got back. He would shower and change and then we would go out to have some supper and drinks until 4 - 5 am then start over again...... Singapore was not exactly what I expected, I thought the architecture would be more oriental but the streets were filled with contemporary architechture filled with shopping malls - and loads of them!!!! I thought I was in heaven - being able to buy lots of stuff and take advantage of the exchange rate: 1 GBP = 2.30 Singapore Dollar!!!! But unfortunately, I wasn't able to do any damage because despite the exchange being good, everything was so expensive!!!!!!! the same shoes that cost 80£ here, cost 155$ Singapore !!! So much for shopping.... Nonetheless, I did have fun going into Chinatown, Little India, and I actually went on a night safari - by myself!!!!!!It was fantastic, something I will never forget. Finally, the week came to an end, and what an end it was. I got to go to the F1 race!! Greg managed to get my a paddock pass so I got to sit outside the Renault motorhome and watch all the driver & celebs go by!!! I was in such
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

An government building, I was expecting to see more building with oriental achitechture or at least something like this building, but there weren't many around...
awe that I forgot to take pictures of them!!! The highlight of the week waqs finishing in 3rd place for Alonso. I got to drink champagne from the podium champagne bottle. The atmosphere in the garage was insane . They desvered the win after a very difficult week, losing 2 major sponsors after the race fixing scandal. Everyone was relieved and thrilled. Even Will-I-Am from the Black Eyed Peas gave me the thumbs up when he walked by me in front of the garage!!!! It felt so natural that when reality hit, I could have kicked myself for not asking him to take a picture!!! oh well, maybe next time... I hope you enjoy the pictures I did take!


Additional photos below
Photos: 167, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

A nice building....
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

A church that has resutarants, bars and shops in the gardens (accessable from the other side) known as Chijmes.
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

Another view of the church
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

A god in front of some restuarants, most places had little statues like this that they would leave in front of their restaurants. people would leave offerings to the gods as they walked by...
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

can you tell I'm in heaven?!?!
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

The police headquarters
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

Another view of the marina
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

the marina
SingaporeSingapore
Singapore

Yes, they have a Hooters in Singapore & yes, the waitresses are all flat chested......
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

Chinatown by day
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

Chinatown was an experience, small tight streets crammed with little shops selling souveniers, every shop had the samething......
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

A street in chinatown.... imagine walking through these streets when it's 32 degrees outside - 500 degress with the humidity!!!!!
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

A temple in Chinatown - absolutely beautiful inside.
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

The facade of the Temple
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

One of the 2 statues in front of the temple
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

The other statue in the fornt of the Temple
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

the sign by the door of the temple
ChinatownChinatown
Chinatown

One of the entrances of the temple


Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb