Singapore....complete with a sling!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Orchard Road
October 20th 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London to Singapore


So, after a 12 hour flight from Heathrow, the adventure began in Singapore . I had less than 3 days here so it was a bit of a whistlestop tour!
I landed at 7am so in a bid to fight the jetlag, I decided the best approach was to stay busy. I wandered to Orchard Road to check it out but forgot it was only 8am so everything was shut and the place was deserted!So decided to brave public transport and get the train and bus to Singapore Zoo. Was really impressed with the zoo; really big lush, leafy enclosures which are mostly sunken and with moats so there is less need for glass and wire cages. Had a leisurely wander around there for hours before tiredness hit and by mid afternoon, I had to admit defeat! Found my way back to the hostel with the intent to have an hours nap and get back out exploring.The first part went ok and I made it down to Orchard Road but was seriously flagging and after an early dinner, called it a day.
The following morning I headed over to Sentosa Island and made the most of the beaches over there as well as exploring the rest of the island and checking out the "famous" Merlion. The rain set in heavily in the afternoon so I headed back over to the mainland and hopped back on the underground to explore Little India and the City Hall area. Little India was as I pictured and the first thing that hit me was the smells of spices and incense burning.
I decided to treat myself and that evening I headed to the Raffles Hotel for a Singapore Sling in the Long Bar. It felt only right to do this as this is their birthplace, and we all know how much I like a good cocktail! And I must say, I can highly recommend the Raffles Singapore Sling 😊
The bar itself was beautiful with a huge, dark wood bar which i think is original, lots of dark wood furniture and rows of fans on the ceiling all attached to bamboo canes and motorised. Each of the tables had a huge box of peanuts still in their shells on it and the base of each table was littered with casualties of snacking drinkers.
I also explored the City Hall area that evening and it was lovely to see the city all lit up. Unfortunately my camera decided to die on the way over to Raffles so no pretty pictures to offer you from either of these locations!
The following morning was my last morning as I was heading to the airport in the afternoon to catch my flight to Bali.So I took the opportunity to wander around the Orchard Road area again, have a coffee and do some people-watching.
I did enjoy my time in Singapore but felt that I'd seen most of the things I was interested in and it just didn't grab me like some previous places. Next stop was Bali and I couldn't wait....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb