SINGAPORE :a gig to remember


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Orchard Road
November 22nd 2009
Published: August 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

ARCHITECTUREARCHITECTUREARCHITECTURE

found an old building with interesting facade.
This was my first trip ever to abroad. Although it is just a neighboring country ; i was really excited about it. The reason why I'm on this trip is actually to attend a gig that my boyfriend (Jimmy) and his band will be playing in. After I got my first ever passport, I've start counting the days ever since...until I realized that I have an exam paper on the day of the gig. Since I was a very stubborn girl I decided to just stick with the plan. Jimmy and his band members will depart by train the day before and I on the other hand will go to Singapore alone by bus without my parents knowing it!!!

21st November 2009
My mind was not paying attention on the paper in front of me. I just can't wait for it to finish...and it did 2 hours later. I've ask my friend, Zahir to send me to Puduraya bus station. And what a nightmare, traffic jam all the way from Shah Alam to Kuala Lumpur. I arrived just a few minutes before the bus leave. THANK GOD! On the way to Singapore I realize that I couldn't contact Jimmy and
Masjid SultanMasjid SultanMasjid Sultan

Had our breakfast in fro
he is the only person that could help me through this trip to Singapore...and that is because we did not do roaming. Silly us! hahaha... but anyhow he managed to call me using the public phone and asked me to buy a new sim card that uses credit instead. So please remember to do your roaming when you travel abroad and it has to be done before the traveling period ( only for those who using bill)

I take me 5 to 6 hours traveling from Kuala Lumpur to Singapore includes the traffic jam and stuff and I finally arrived at the heart of Singapore at dusk. I am sorry that I couldn't recall the name of the bus station where I stop but I literally surrounded by tall buildings and there were old people hanging out everywhere. Jimmy manage to locate me just a few minutes after I arrived and he didn't even knows Singapore or even where the hell I am...maybe its just faith (hehehe) We were running like crazy to the venue of the gig which took us about 5-10 minutes of walking distance because it was suppose to be his turn to perform. I mean they actually postpone the gig for about half an hour just to wait for my arrival. hahahaha, okay maybe I was being too dramatic but I really felt like a rockstar. It was awesome getting in the gig and have the performance right back on track!!!

After the gig had successfully ended, the Singaporean band that invited Jimmy's band ( Arheum Revert) were kind enough to buy us pizza as a treat. Talking about free food : AWESOME!!!! Then they took us to their place to rest. It was an office above an old house shop. I don't mind at all as long as I have a place to lay my head and have a nice rest.

After we all had a good rest and shower, the band from Singapore took us out in town. We walk along this alley consist of a 'baba nyonya' house which magically transform into an interesting night life area. Along the walkways you can see people hanging out while having their drinks and smoking 'shisha'. Its really cool though. Sorry that I don't have any picture of it but we end up having supper at mamak restaurant. About 3 a.m we all
Bugis JunctionBugis JunctionBugis Junction

Amazing shopping mall
went back to sleep.

22nd November 2009
We woke up early in the morning and had our turn to shower. Around 10 a.m the Singaporean guys told us that they would bring us walking around Singapore...indeed we walk! First stop : Mamak again. We had our breakfast at mamak in front of the Masjid Sultan. Then we passed by Bugis street and straight to Bugis junction. I was particularly amazed by this unique shopping mall. Its as if you take a row of Peranakan house and carefully placed a glass on top of it. Its magical just to walk in it. Then we went to iluma mall at Victoria street I believe. Interesting facade and interior by the way.

Then we took a bus to god knows where. hehehehe, I really don't have any idea..sorry! Anyway, as far as I can remember we went under a passageway which fulled of people and they were all walking so fast. hehehe..so hectic!! And all of a sudden we went up and there we are in front of the Ion Shopping mall. It was so huge and what an impressive sight!

I also remember that we were brought by them
Victoria streetVictoria streetVictoria street

Crossing the road to get to iLUMA mall.
to an old shopping mall fulled with musical instruments. Jimmy and his band members just went nuts seeing all the rare guitar and stuffs.. but they said that it was still quite cheap compared to Malaysia though. And then we were brought to another old shopping mall (its either mustafa centre or ngee ann city mall or i really don't know) We had our lunch there. I had a very nice fried prawn dumpling with mee. The prawn dumpling was extremely delicious and we all shared it and ordered it again and again that the aunty who sell the dumpling decided to just give us one more free plate of the super duper delicious dumpling!!!!!!

Then we went to back to bugis street to buy ourselves some souvenirs. I manage to bought a nice bag which cost only for $10. Its like only RM20 something in Malaysia which I consider cheap! hehehe... There are lots of nice things there although mostly its fake but who cares!! After that we rushes back to the office and packed our bags and ready to go back to Malaysia. We took a bus at Queen Street bus terminal which will send us to
Ion Shopping MallIon Shopping MallIon Shopping Mall

In front of the entrance
woodland. Then from there we took another bus to Johor and bought a ticket back to KL!!! Happy Ending!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

ConfusedConfused
Confused

We really don't know where we are and where heading to. hahahaha
Where is this...Where is this...
Where is this...

can someone please tell me the name of the building behind us??
Ion shopping mallIon shopping mall
Ion shopping mall

look at the column
Ion Shopping mallIon Shopping mall
Ion Shopping mall

entrance to the passageway below
woodlandwoodland
woodland

waiting for the bus to Johor


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb