Off to Oz but I'll stop at Singapore first


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
June 18th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

Trying to fix my memory card - no joy
I arrived in Singapore at 7am on Monday 16th June after getting the night bus from KL. The night bus was great it was clean comfortable and quick. It only cost me 30 RM which is about 5 pounds. Also the great thing about night buses is you get free accommodation so a great money saver.

The transport system in Singapore makes the place very easy to navigate if you know where you’re going. I asked at the bus station for help and didn't get much the people in the travel agents didn't help, businessmen didn't help I had to take a chance and just walk in a direction. I was lucky to come across a bus stop with a bus to where I wanted to go to. However, I didn't have the right / exact change so had to ask to swap money with other people on bus. We got there in the end but only after asking a fair few people. Get small change for the Bus or use MRT which is a lot easier. The MRT opens up the whole city and stops very regularly it is quick and efficient and clean. You can buy a one
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

Singapore is south-east Asia's hi-tech, wealthy city-state. The country comprises the main island - linked by a causeway and a bridge to the southern tip of Malaysia - and around 50 smaller islands.
off ticket or a pass to top up like an Oyster card which is better for a longer stay.

If you like shopping or architecture you'll love it here. If you want history there is a lot here but you will find it hard to find as the city is consistently evolving and gentrification is a common occurrence. I found the colonial district really interesting and well worth a visit.

The city has a good night life but is very expensive I would say the most expensive place in Asia I have visited. Worth the visit but don't stay for too long. Most people I met were here from Oz or going to Oz and it was just a stop off or were waiting for a visa from Indonesia.

Come and see it for yourself but don't stay long. Would be a cool place to work in if you earn enough money. There are a lot of working girls to satisfy the well paid business men, they stay in the cheaper hostel or my hostel in this case.
Enjoy.

I’m off to Oz tomorrow Thursday 18th, first stop Brisbane.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb