Moving across town


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
March 7th 2008
Published: March 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After several days of schlepping across Orchard Road in order to make it to the nearest bus stop or MRT station - the most efficient and well organized public transport system I've ever been on., I had enough and decided to move across town and live out my remaining days in a more colorful part of town. I moved in to Sleepy Sam's hostel in Kampong Glam - the Muslim heart of the city.

I can't play catch up on all the sights seen and visited, but I have uploaded some pictures to give you a flavor of Singapore. If time permits, I'll add to this entry if only to keep my own memory straight!

Otherwise, it's onward and upward captain!

Enjoy.

love,
Vanessa


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Arts CenterArts Center
Arts Center

Performance, Practice and Gallery Space
Sultan's MosqueSultan's Mosque
Sultan's Mosque

In Kampong Glam, down the street from my second hostel: Sleepy Sam's
Architectural BlendArchitectural Blend
Architectural Blend

This is a roofline
Duck? Chicken?Duck? Chicken?
Duck? Chicken?

Early morning bath... about 6:30am
Nature's GateNature's Gate
Nature's Gate

Yup. This one's also for Mom. Mostly.
Sri Mariamman TempleSri Mariamman Temple
Sri Mariamman Temple

Smack in the middle of Chinatown. Seriously.
Chinatown StreetChinatown Street
Chinatown Street

Best restaurant-supply place I've ever been in. SO MANY KNIVES! And fun tools. Don't worry, I restrained myself.
Hawker CenterHawker Center
Hawker Center

Delicious
MRT StationMRT Station
MRT Station

Singapore's very clean underground train system with public art in the stations!
One of the QuaysOne of the Quays
One of the Quays

Pronounced "Key" - It's either Boat or Clarke. I can't keep track of which one is on which bank.
Singapore from AboveSingapore from Above
Singapore from Above

View from the 19th floor of the Furama Hotel - Thanks Jon!
Whiskey @ HighlanderWhiskey @ Highlander
Whiskey @ Highlander

Yup. You read that right. Of course I found whiskey!


14th March 2008

great photos
Hi Vanessa, Great photos (I'm happy to see my shot of you @ the whiskey bar made it into the lineup)! I am really struggling w/ the jetlag at the moment, and getting more envious of your epic journey w/ each blog post. As for the "quays": bizzare tall umbrellas = Clarke Quay, overpriced pepper crabs = Boat Quay... Jon

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb